Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VwTdi09

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 28, 2009
I'm currently looking for a bootcamp-style class for Objective-C or Cocoa, preferably in the New York area but I will consider anywhere in the continental US.

It looks like the Big Nerd Ranch isn't offering the Cocoa I class anytime soon, so some alternative would be nice. I would be interested to hear if anyone has experience going to any of these classes.

Just got word from the boss that he might need me to help out with some Objective-C projects and I need something to get me up to speed quickly.

As far as background goes, I'm currently a C programmer at the firmware level and have little experience with OOP. I've messed around with it a little on my own but no professional experience.

Also, if anyone has any other suggestions besides a crash-course, I'm all ears :)

VwTdi09

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 28, 2009
Not sure about any classes, but since you already know C, you may want to pick up Programming in Objective-C 2.0 and start with that. Then when you're comfortable with the language, Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X.

Thanks for the suggestions, I appreciate. I actually own both those books already. They are very well written and have a ton of information but I need the structure of an actual class. I've tried the whole self-paced thing and things go smoothly for about a week then life gets in the way.

MorphingDragon

macrumors 603
Mar 27, 2009
The World Inbetween
Thanks for the suggestions, I appreciate. I actually own both those books already. They are very well written and have a ton of information but I need the structure of an actual class. I've tried the whole self-paced thing and things go smoothly for about a week then life gets in the way.

Big Nerd Ranch is probably the only place short of going to university that teaches cocoa.

dbendixen

macrumors member