Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kelmon

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 28, 2005
United Kingdom
OK, I'll confess now that while I'm OK with Java, I am new to developing Java applications with Xcode of any version as I normally use Eclipse. Anyway, having bought Tiger I thought I'd at least take a look at Xcode2, mostly for its diagramming tools and because I'm interested in developing a Java-based tool for my Mac that integrates nicely with the other applications. So, I've installed Xcode2 (everything), have built a new Java Swing Application Project, and have then selected Build since it appears to have enough basic classes defined that it should produce something runnable. However, my build fails due to the following error:

Missing File or Directory: /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub

Having a quick check in Finder I can confirm that this file/directory is indeed not present on my disk (in fact, I have no MacOS folder in the Resources folder, just a collection of what appears to be language localisations for English, French, German and Japanes).

Perhaps I am jumping the gun a little here, but should this file/folder already exist on my computer, or does it get created later? If it should be there already, any ideas on how I can get it short of reinstalling Tiger?

At this time I have reinstalled Xcode2 and have downloaded the Java 1.5 SDK. Neither actions have resolved the issue.

Any suggestions are gratefully received.

Suspended
Jun 22, 2001
I have the file. I could put it up for download if you think that will resolve the issue. If you don't have the file it may suggest that you have more severe problems that this is a result of.

How did you install Tiger? Update, Archive/Install...?

Kelmon

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 28, 2005
United Kingdom
Hi Wes,