Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2011, 07:40 PM   #1
RedHotChiliDog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
I want to play "Star Wars: The Old Republic" on my Mac?

I got my Macbook pro last spring (13 inch 2.3) and I love it! Problem at the time is I didn't think I would be gaming on my laptop till I found out The Old Republic is PC only. What can I do to run it on my mac without totally ****ing up my mac's speed or performance? I've heard of bootcamp and other parrallels but don't know much about any and if its possible to put the OS on an external harddrive so my mac isn't affected I'll gladly do that. I'm not much of a computer guy by any means as I'm sure you can tell . So please explain to me my options/the best option.
RedHotChiliDog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 07:44 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Can this help clarify some unknown?
http://guides.macrumors.com/Booting_Windows_on_the_Mac
Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find similar threads:
simsaladimbamba is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:35 AM   #3
Nightarchaon
macrumors 65816
 
Nightarchaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I'm on the beta , on a 2011 iMac and a mid 2008 MBP , I can say, if you want performance, install windows 7 64bit, under bootcamp, on at least a 150GB partition on your main drive, it's the only way to play and get the best performance out of the system, sure you could go the parallels route, I tried it and it does work, but you'll take a performance hit.
__________________
iWatch in action http://media.joe.ie/wp-content/uploa...ael-Knight.jpg
MacBook Pro/iPad Mini/TV1/iMac/iPhone5
Nightarchaon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 04:49 AM   #4
Shivetya
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I have played it both through Bootcamp and with Parallels. Parallels with SWTOR suffers the same problem it suffers in other game, namely screwing mouse behavior. As in click a mouse button and sometimes the screen twirls. Otherwise its 'playable' but I figure it this way, since you need windows for Parallels to work just bootcamp
__________________
...
Shivetya is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 07:23 AM   #5
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
With your specs... go with bootcamp.

Parallels actually runs this game fantastic for being in a virtual machine, and is the way I play, but my specs are MUCH higher than yours, so I don't notice much of a slow down like you would.

To the Parallels mouse comment, the mouse can work fine. Run Parallels in fullscreen, and turn off SmartMouse in Parallels options and the mouse works perfectly in the game.
doh123 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 07:54 AM   #6
Shivetya
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
With your specs... go with bootcamp.

Parallels actually runs this game fantastic for being in a virtual machine, and is the way I play, but my specs are MUCH higher than yours, so I don't notice much of a slow down like you would.

To the Parallels mouse comment, the mouse can work fine. Run Parallels in fullscreen, and turn off SmartMouse in Parallels options and the mouse works perfectly in the game.
Thank you doh123, I will try disabling smart mouse.
__________________
...
Shivetya is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 12:33 PM   #7
bcburrows
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bristol
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
With your specs... go with bootcamp.

Parallels actually runs this game fantastic for being in a virtual machine, and is the way I play, but my specs are MUCH higher than yours, so I don't notice much of a slow down like you would.

To the Parallels mouse comment, the mouse can work fine. Run Parallels in fullscreen, and turn off SmartMouse in Parallels options and the mouse works perfectly in the game.
Can I ask what machine you have and how you set up your virtual machine or star wars.

Cheers
__________________
15 MBP i7 2.2Ghz, 16GB, 256GB SDD+750Gb Hybrid
bcburrows is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 05:50 AM   #8
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shivetya View Post
I have played it both through Bootcamp and with Parallels. Parallels with SWTOR suffers the same problem it suffers in other game, namely screwing mouse behavior. As in click a mouse button and sometimes the screen twirls. Otherwise its 'playable' but I figure it this way, since you need windows for Parallels to work just bootcamp
I fixed that problem with the mouse by connecting a wired USB mouse and letting it have direct control over it as a USB device. Then I max the screen (optional) and turn off my Magic mouse. Problem solved.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 07:17 AM   #9
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BornAgainMac View Post
I fixed that problem with the mouse by connecting a wired USB mouse and letting it have direct control over it as a USB device. Then I max the screen (optional) and turn off my Magic mouse. Problem solved.
I tried that with a few mouseseseses and it didn't work.

I had to turn SmartMouse off in Parallels, which then gives you an invisible cursor, but the game works... so then i had to change SWTOR to run in the Fullscreen (Windowed) mode, then the mouse appeared and works great. Its SmartMouse that screws up gaming in Parallels, and isn't really that useful unless your running in coherence mode. In Lion i love running in fullscreen mode since it just adds it like another desktop you can easily switch between with 4 finger swipe, or Mission Control.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 02:43 PM   #10
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHotChiliDog View Post
I got my Macbook pro last spring (13 inch 2.3) and I love it! Problem at the time is I didn't think I would be gaming on my laptop till I found out The Old Republic is PC only. What can I do to run it on my mac without totally ****ing up my mac's speed or performance? I've heard of bootcamp and other parrallels but don't know much about any and if its possible to put the OS on an external harddrive so my mac isn't affected I'll gladly do that. I'm not much of a computer guy by any means as I'm sure you can tell . So please explain to me my options/the best option.

Bootcamp creates a separate hard drive partition for Windows. As a rule, what happens in Windows, stays in Windows. I know of no threat to your MacOS and it's ability to function. This includes getting a Windows Virus on your Windows partition. If you are only playing SWTOR in Windows, not emailing, and not surfing all over, the threat even in Windows is slight.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 08:44 PM   #11
KevinRightWing
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston TX
Send a message via AIM to KevinRightWing Send a message via Yahoo to KevinRightWing
How well will the game game rub on a 17in 2011 MacBook pro?
KevinRightWing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 09:02 PM   #12
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinRightWing View Post
How well will the game game rub on a 17in 2011 MacBook pro?
Amazingly fast...

the game is very low end for graphics and is supposed to look cartoony. You do not need a powerhouse to run the game. I have a early 2011 17" MBP and used it during beta and it runs fantastic even in Parallels.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 03:01 AM   #13
Siggen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
@doh123

Are you gonna work on a wine port of the game?
Maby not before its out of beta?
My macbook pro is old and I dont think it would run swtor in parallels well
Thanks anyway, I really love your software :3

Of course as of now I'm playing in bootcamp which is tottaly satisfactory but a bit cumbersome.

Last edited by Siggen; Dec 3, 2011 at 03:52 AM.
Siggen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 06:19 AM   #14
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siggen View Post
@doh123

Are you gonna work on a wine port of the game?
Maby not before its out of beta?
My macbook pro is old and I dont think it would run swtor in parallels well
Thanks anyway, I really love your software :3

Of course as of now I'm playing in bootcamp which is tottaly satisfactory but a bit cumbersome.
I am... yes. I did during beta and had a mostly working Wineskin port already done, but they kept changing things and breaking things... and currently they made some changes that has totally broken usage with Wine for everyone... so I stopped even looking at trying until the game is out with more stable code. Its too hard chasing a quickly changing/moving target.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 06:22 PM   #15
Aristor
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California, or New York City, New York. (Depends on the time of year)
In order to not start another thread for 1 question:

How will SW:TOR run on a 27" 3.1ghz i5-2400, Radeon HD 6790M 1gb vram, 12 gb ram, running windows 7 in bootcamp? Also, how is the sound on the built in imac speakers? (I bought an imac and it is shipping now.)
Aristor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 06:43 PM   #16
David085
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
And I want a newer Star Wars Games with a good graphics engine and it better be good too
David085 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 11:07 PM   #17
Aundril07
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Will I be able to run SWTOR on my 2010 13'' Macbook pro? It was the barebones macbook pro at the time

If so will it be smooth on mediumish settings?

I have a 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo procesor

4 GB 1076 MHz DDR3 of memory

My graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce 320M with 256mb of virtual ram

and my resolution is 1280 x 800

Thanks!!!
Aundril07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 12:42 PM   #18
sotsuki21
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I have a mid 2009 MBP

2.53ghz intel core 2 duo
4gb 1067 MHz DDR3
NVidia 9400M w/ 256MB VRAM

i am planning on using windows 7 through bootcamp.

would this be good enough to run the game? do I have any other options? suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
sotsuki21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 03:42 AM   #19
Vivid.Inferno
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Send a message via MSN to Vivid.Inferno
I'm running a Late 2008 MBP:
2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512MB

If I were to install XP under bootcamp with a ~80GB partition how well would the game run? I'm not to worried about it being pretty, I currently play WoW on low settings. As long as the game runs smoothly I'm not worried about it looking fantastic.
__________________
I know not what weapons World War 3 will be fought; but I know World War 4 will be fought with sticks and stones.
Vivid.Inferno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 05:20 AM   #20
Liquorpuki
macrumors 68020
 
Liquorpuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: City of Angels
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivid.Inferno View Post
I'm running a Late 2008 MBP:
2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512MB

If I were to install XP under bootcamp with a ~80GB partition how well would the game run? I'm not to worried about it being pretty, I currently play WoW on low settings. As long as the game runs smoothly I'm not worried about it looking fantastic.

I installed it on the late 08 core duo MBP in my sig. Using a 60gb 64-bit Windows 7 partition in Bootcamp.

Put all settings on low, disabled shadows and one of the sound settings, and dropped the res to 1024 x ___. The game is totally playable.
__________________
Ableton 9 on a Surface Pro 3, APC40, Audiobox, Yamaha KX8, Roland V-Drums HD1 + Octapad, K-Pro, Rode NT1A, MPC1000, EWI, 1200-MK5, 06-Pro
Liquorpuki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 05:03 PM   #21
Yogakun
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I have a fresh install of win 7x64 ultimate sp1, all updates, and the game fully updated. I launched it for the first time, but I am getting no video. I have an imac 2011 mid-2011 model, base unit.

Any solutions?
Yogakun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 06:26 PM   #22
Interlagos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fog Killing my FPS

I have the newest 17" MBP with 1GB of VRAM and I have all the game settings as low as they can go, running at 1920x1200 and I get 60fps for the majority of the game, except for when there's blue fog or a hologram call. In these instances my frame rate is reduced to around 8 fps. Also space missions are running at really low frame rates as well. Seems as if the graphics card is capable of running this game perfectly, I was on the other hand able to run Skyrim very well, a much more graphics intensive game. Any suggestions?
Interlagos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 06:41 PM   #23
DustinT
macrumors 68000
 
DustinT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interlagos View Post
I have the newest 17" MBP with 1GB of VRAM and I have all the game settings as low as they can go, running at 1920x1200 and I get 60fps for the majority of the game, except for when there's blue fog or a hologram call. In these instances my frame rate is reduced to around 8 fps. Also space missions are running at really low frame rates as well. Seems as if the graphics card is capable of running this game perfectly, I was on the other hand able to run Skyrim very well, a much more graphics intensive game. Any suggestions?
Check that you have the latest graphics drivers and if that doesn't work, hope the next patch fixes it.
__________________

My townhouse could pass for a well stocked Apple store.
DustinT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 10:16 AM   #24
Rhieia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Help!

13'' MacBook - Late 2008
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB

I need this game to run. I just got it for Christmas. But I don't know what I should do. What would be the best option for my computer? I originally was just going to go with Parallels, but now I'm reading all of this stuff about BootCamp and Wineskin and all of this other stuff I've never heard of or dealt with. Do I really need to partition my drive to play this game?

I don't mind mediocre graphics. I've been playing WoW with low graphics for years and I'm just fine with that. But I'd really like to avoid major game glitches and side effects to my machine.

Please somebody tell me what I should do!!
Rhieia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 10:53 AM   #25
DustinT
macrumors 68000
 
DustinT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhieia View Post
13'' MacBook - Late 2008
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB

I need this game to run. I just got it for Christmas. But I don't know what I should do. What would be the best option for my computer? I originally was just going to go with Parallels, but now I'm reading all of this stuff about BootCamp and Wineskin and all of this other stuff I've never heard of or dealt with. Do I really need to partition my drive to play this game?

I don't mind mediocre graphics. I've been playing WoW with low graphics for years and I'm just fine with that. But I'd really like to avoid major game glitches and side effects to my machine.

Please somebody tell me what I should do!!
Bootcamp is by far the best option. In fact, with the older hardware you have, it might be your only option.

Wineskin and Parallels are virtualization tools and they will greatly reduce the performance of the game. Bootcamp FTW.
__________________

My townhouse could pass for a well stocked Apple store.
DustinT is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with Star Wars Knights of the old Republic chrismarle iPad Apps 4 Jul 16, 2013 09:14 PM
'Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic' Now Available for iPad MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 52 Jul 3, 2013 10:35 AM
'Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic' Might Come to the iPad MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 24 May 23, 2013 04:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC