Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 15, 2012, 09:03 PM   #1
lannister80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Getting HomePod software to work on 10.7 / Intel only?

Does anyone remember the HomePod from 2003/2004 or so?

http://www.amazon.com/Macsense-MP-10.../dp/B00013BK3C
http://www.linuxfordevices.com/c/a/N...rom-computers/


It's a wifi/ethernet mp3 player (Linux) that connects to some server software you run on your Mac. It reads your iTunes XML Library file and can play music through built-in speakers or RCA plugs or optical out, etc. Has an LCD display and USB port.

The only problem is, the company MacSense went out of business years ago (the device was based on a Java media-server middleware platform called "Gloo", which was supposed to become popular in embedded devices). Their server software is only available in PowerPC binaries, but since it's Java I think it's just some launcher/wrapper that is PowerPC, as the Java should be mostly platform-independent.

So, it's impossible to run on 10.7 Lion in its current state:

Mac-Pro:bin user1$ ./AudioLibrary
Usage: ./AudioLibrary { console | start | stop | restart | dump }
Mac-Pro:bin user1$ ./AudioLibrary restart
Stopping GLOO Audio Library...
GLOO Audio Library was not running.
Starting GLOO Audio Library...
Launch of "wrapper" failed: the PowerPC architecture is no longer supported.



I've attached the folder with the software in it. The GUI app is awful. I believe you have to use it to select your iTunes XML file when starting the app for the first time, but after that don't even bother using it (edit pref/conf file manually and launch from command line using syntax in my above example).

Is there any possibility of making this into an Intel-compatible program? I have an old PowerPC machine if anyone wants me to do testing.

Help, and thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip HomePod.zip (2.55 MB, 15 views)
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, 8x2.8GHz, 3.25TB, 18GB RAM
UnRAID NAS, 9TB storage, 3TB parity, 400GB cache
lannister80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 08:44 AM   #2
lannister80
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicagoland
desperate bump.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, 8x2.8GHz, 3.25TB, 18GB RAM
UnRAID NAS, 9TB storage, 3TB parity, 400GB cache
lannister80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 12:20 PM   #3
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
You would need the source code for the app, which is probably unobtainable.

Alternative would be to run 10.6 in a VM under Lion.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 09:24 PM   #4
moongravy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cardiff, Wales UK
The Java executables are in the Audio_Server/apps folder. ituneslibrary.jar does a scan of the iTunes library and then stays running in the background. Not sure if this is the server, though the firewall asks you to authorise it.

Does this app get you anywhere?
moongravy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 01:40 PM   #5
lannister80
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by moongravy View Post
The Java executables are in the Audio_Server/apps folder. ituneslibrary.jar does a scan of the iTunes library and then stays running in the background. Not sure if this is the server, though the firewall asks you to authorise it.

Does this app get you anywhere?
Holy cow, if it's that easy I'll kick myself. Does it open/bind any sockets that you can tell? Now if I can figure out how to invoke from the command line instead of the GUI so I can script it easily.

Time to go test it...
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, 8x2.8GHz, 3.25TB, 18GB RAM
UnRAID NAS, 9TB storage, 3TB parity, 400GB cache

Last edited by lannister80; Aug 23, 2012 at 01:49 PM.
lannister80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 02:07 PM   #6
moongravy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cardiff, Wales UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by lannister80 View Post
Holy cow, if it's that easy I'll kick myself. Does it open/bind any sockets that you can tell? Now if I can figure out how to invoke from the command line instead of the GUI so I can script it easily.

Time to go test it...
Didn't test that far as I've no need for this application. "open ituneslibrary.jar" works as long as you're in the right directory.
moongravy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 10:46 AM   #7
lannister80
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Wow, it works! Just launching that single jar file is all that's required to get it up and running.

Hooray! Now I can use my ancient networked mp3 player with Mountain Lion!
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, 8x2.8GHz, 3.25TB, 18GB RAM
UnRAID NAS, 9TB storage, 3TB parity, 400GB cache
lannister80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Getting The Sims (original) to work on an Intel Mac? Cam493 Mac and PC Games 0 Feb 6, 2013 10:16 PM
Getting The Sims (1) to work on Intel? Cam493 Mac and PC Games 1 Jun 7, 2012 01:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC