Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

franzfudd

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2009
I have all my music in one folder. There are sub-folders by band name and they contain MP3 & FLAC files.

Can someone help me identify all my FLAC files in a whole bunch of the sub folders and move them to a separate folder so I can convert to AAC.

Better still if I dont have to move them that would be even better. I'm new to Automator and I've never created a smart folder in my life.

thanks in advance

Franz

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
I have all my music in one folder. There are sub-folders by band name and they contain MP3 & FLAC files.

Can someone help me identify all my FLAC files in a whole bunch of the sub folders and move them to a separate folder so I can convert to AAC.

Better still if I dont have to move them that would be even better. I'm new to Automator and I've never created a smart folder in my life.
You don't need to move them to convert them, and you don't need Automator or smart folders.
  1. Install Max
  2. Go to Max > Preferences > Formats and configure your preferred output format, such as AAC.
  3. Go to Max > Preferences > Output > Locations and select "Output files: Same as source file"
  4. Close Preferences and click File > Convert Files (click Cancel if prompted to select a file.) That will leave you with a File Conversion window open.
  5. Now use Finder and search for all files with a .flac extension.
  6. Select all files in the search results (Command-A) and then drag them from Finder to the Max window.
  7. Let 'er rip! Max will create AAC files and put them in the same folder as the original files.
  8. When you've checked the new files and are satisfied with the results, select all .flac files from your Finder search and delete them.