Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 25, 2012, 09:12 PM   #1
jackrv
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Using a separate GIT client with Xcode (or eclipse or anything else)

Hello,

I have a quick question for those who use Git repos and use a separate visual Git client such as SourceTree. This question is mainly for Xcode, but it really is just a workflow question, so it can also apply to Ecplise, or any other IDE.

Xcode 4 has Git integration, and Ecplise provides it with a plugin. What would be the best way to set up a project if I would be using a program like SourceTree to manage my copies of the repo? I would be working with both Xcode and Eclipse on different projects.

Thanks
__________________
2010 iMac 27" i5 16Gb - iPhone 3GS - Samsung Galaxy Nexus (don't hate!) Airport Extreme Base Station Airport Express
jackrv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 01:04 AM   #2
seepel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I haven't worked too much with eclipse, but I can give some info on how I use git with XCode. I generally use the command line to manage my branches (via the wonderful git-flow extension) and then manage my commits/pushes/pulls with XCode. I haven't seen a more beautiful diff since I discovered vimdiff.
__________________
Free iOS App that turns your music library into an info graphic.
Phonographic
seepel is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 05:05 AM   #3
MorphingDragon
macrumors 603
 
MorphingDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The World Inbetween
Send a message via Skype™ to MorphingDragon
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackrv View Post
Hello,

I have a quick question for those who use Git repos and use a separate visual Git client such as SourceTree. This question is mainly for Xcode, but it really is just a workflow question, so it can also apply to Ecplise, or any other IDE.

Xcode 4 has Git integration, and Ecplise provides it with a plugin. What would be the best way to set up a project if I would be using a program like SourceTree to manage my copies of the repo? I would be working with both Xcode and Eclipse on different projects.

Thanks
Eclipse since Indigo has included EGit, and can manage repos locally.
__________________
I create things that don't exist, even after I've created them.
MorphingDragon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 03:13 PM   #4
jackrv
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Thanks to both of you!
__________________
2010 iMac 27" i5 16Gb - iPhone 3GS - Samsung Galaxy Nexus (don't hate!) Airport Extreme Base Station Airport Express
jackrv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 07:39 PM   #5
jackrv
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Sorry, one more question.

I was looking at the Eclipse integration with Git, and have another workflow question. I am using www.bitbucket.com as my primary repo host. Should I create the project in the standard location (/Users/Documents/Workspace), then add that project to BitBucket, then clone that repo locally and work from that from that point on? I see an option to import from a Git repo, but not to create a project as a Git repo. I guess my question is how to get the project into Git in the first place. I've read how to create a repo and add files from the Git documentation, I'm just trying to figure out how it ties in with Eclipse. (XCode seems a bit easier)

Sorry if my questions seem really basic, I don't have much Version Control experience except for managing a Visual Source Safe system, and that was over 10 years ago.

Thanks!
__________________
2010 iMac 27" i5 16Gb - iPhone 3GS - Samsung Galaxy Nexus (don't hate!) Airport Extreme Base Station Airport Express
jackrv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 08:14 PM   #6
jackrv
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Found the answer. New > Other > Git Repository. Then I can add that repo directly to BitBucket with SourceTree. Much easier than I thought!

Thanks for your help again!
__________________
2010 iMac 27" i5 16Gb - iPhone 3GS - Samsung Galaxy Nexus (don't hate!) Airport Extreme Base Station Airport Express
jackrv is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App crashes when Archived using Release but works fine with Debug... dbramhall iPhone/iPad Programming 5 Apr 17, 2012 07:49 PM
How to use C++ <fstream> output files with Xcode? alexhutu Mac Programming 2 Mar 1, 2012 05:05 PM
Advice on sound (or anything else) whilst filming fly on wall doc IN IBIZA! steveOooo Digital Video 0 Aug 20, 2010 03:07 PM
No audio from mac (logic or anything else) is coming through my ZEDR16 mixing desk??? ttn123 Digital Audio 2 Dec 30, 2009 03:49 PM
Using the wireless Mighty keyboard with windows xp and/or linux streather Mac Peripherals 5 Mar 25, 2009 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC