Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 22, 2012, 10:44 AM   #1
Justelis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
System Preferences - Start up disk cannot see Windows

Hello,
recently I reinstalled Windows 7 from Ultimates to Professionals I used USB to do it.
So I spotted that my Start up disk can't see Windows 7.
What I can see when I go to Start up disk



And this is how my Disk Utility looks like:





So my question is how I can make Windows visible on Start up disk?

Thanks

Last edited by Justelis; Apr 22, 2012 at 11:12 AM.
Justelis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 10:57 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Can you boot into Windows via holding down the OPTION key right after the startup sound chimes?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 11:01 AM   #3
Justelis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Yes, I can I forgot to mention about this.
But for example if I boot Mac OS I cannot go back to Windows without holding option key, it automatically boots Mac
Maybe you know how to solve this problem?
Justelis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:15 PM   #4
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I can't see your screen shots in any of three web browsers. Can you fix them?
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:18 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphychris View Post
I can't see your screen shots in any of three web browsers. Can you fix them?
I can see them quite well in Safari 5.1.5.

To the OP, what happens, when you choose Verify Disk in Disk Utility on that Windows partition?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 02:36 PM   #6
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
OK well, interestingly enough Mac OS X presently thinks the Windows disk is MS-DOS (FAT) formatted rather than NTFS. Mac OS X will only display Windows 7 as a Startup Disk item for NTFS formatted disks that contains a system it can boot.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
I can see them quite well in Safari 5.1.5.
Safari is tolerant of images with .jpeg filename extensions. Other web browsers are not, that's the problem.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 03:20 PM   #7
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphychris View Post
Safari is tolerant of images with .jpeg filename extensions. Other web browsers are not, that's the problem.
Yeah, I suspected that to be the reason.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 09:25 AM   #8
Justelis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Maybe you guys know solution?
When I try to verify it says you have to repair disk and whe I try repair it says you cannot repair disk..
Justelis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 11:47 AM   #9
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justelis View Post
Maybe you guys know solution?
When I try to verify it says you have to repair disk and whe I try repair it says you cannot repair disk..
Did you reformat the Windows partition to NTFS before you installed Windows 7? This is step 2 through 5 in the Boot Camp Install Setup for 10.7.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 01:53 PM   #10
Justelis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
No I didn't..And if I don't have USB or disk to reinstall Windows so I can't solve this problem without reinstalling Windows?
Justelis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:02 PM   #11
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justelis View Post
No I didn't..And if I don't have USB or disk to reinstall Windows so I can't solve this problem without reinstalling Windows?
Correct.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:12 PM   #12
Justelis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
That's just great U took USB from friend for couple days, and then I took 8h to install it and I did it all wrong, awesome.
Justelis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:18 PM   #13
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justelis View Post
That's just great U took USB from friend for couple days, and then I took 8h to install it and I did it all wrong, awesome.
Usually it pays to read the instructions. But quite honestly I find Boot Camp to be a huge PITA as well as risky. Unless you're playing games, I don't see why you don't just run Windows in a virtual machine instead.

I'm surprised Windows 7 even lets users install onto FAT32.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:37 PM   #14
Justelis
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Playing games, working with Pinacle. And virtual machines coast alot of your computer resourses that's why I install Windows
Justelis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:46 PM   #15
ModestMoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Send a message via Skype™ to ModestMoo
OT: Maybie you're Lithuanian?
__________________
M0esmac on Twitter |  iPhone4 16GB, iOS5 |  iPad 3, 16GB
 MacBook Pro 2011, 13", i7 2,7GHz, 8GB ram | Magic Mouse | Remote Controller
ModestMoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:50 PM   #16
murphychris
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justelis View Post
Playing games, working with Pinacle. And virtual machines coast alot of your computer resourses that's why I install Windows
It actually doesn't, but it depends on what you're doing. Games and video editing even somewhat consider the operating itself a hinderance. Let alone two of them and a layer in between.
murphychris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC