Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacNoobGuy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 18, 2012
hey guys, i just started coding in XCode and am a general rookie in coding. i had hoped to have an app out in 6 weeks, but it's looking like it'll be closer to 6 months. i don't know why, but i'm just not enjoying it as much as i thought i would.

i'm fresh out of college and i bought a mac mini and iPod Touch and decided to not get a job just for the purpose of building an app so i really don't want to give up yet.

i was hoping someone could post an inspirational quote from bill gates, steve jobs or wozniak to help me persevere. i dunno, i think it'd help me a lot if i could somehow 'demonstrate' my work to friends and family like a painter or musician could. is there any way i could do this? i want to make something that they and people would be genuinely interested in.

i was a history major so maybe my mind needs time to adjust.

thanks guys, i'd appreciate any help.

jnoxx

macrumors 65816
Dec 29, 2010
Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
my real interest only started when I actually putted something in the screen, the first half year of programming (without ANY prior programming experience), was a hell for me too. Having no idea what to do, coming to forums like these where people said what to do, but i had no idea to actually do it ^_-
After I started getting into it, and started putting some stuff on the screen, I REALLY enjoyed my job, and here I am, 2 years later, still doing it as a full time iOS developer :)
I think your best call is to follow some books and learn how to build on your device (costs ya 99$ though), when you do that, the fun begins, to build what you want. for more specific questions you can head back to our forums :)

I'm not good with quotes but i can try to use some others
"Just do it" (c) Nike (amirite?)
"I liek turtles" (c) random kid on youtube