Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Diggler

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2012
Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
Hi, I've recently decided to buy my first MacBook after being impressed by the iPhone for a few years. The problem I have is that I can't update ML in the app store. My MBP is a late 2010 model and seemed to have a fresh install when I bought it.

Is it possible that the OSX that has been installed isn't authentic? Is there a way to check this? Would buying ML from the app store for £13.99 fix this problem? I don't want to waste money if not.

Please go easy on me as I'm still learning how this all works. Thanks in advance!

Zedsdead185

macrumors 6502
Sep 14, 2006
UK
Hi, I've recently decided to buy my first MacBook after being impressed by the iPhone for a few years. The problem I have is that I can't update ML in the app store. My MBP is a late 2010 model and seemed to have a fresh install when I bought it.

Is it possible that the OSX that has been installed isn't authentic? Is there a way to check this? Would buying ML from the app store for £13.99 fix this problem? I don't want to waste money if not.

Please go easy on me as I'm still learning how this all works. Thanks in advance!

Have you tried updating it to Mountain Lion yet? You say you can't seem to update, but then ask whether you should buy it?

If the app store believed that you had non-authentic software, then I would assume that it would inform you that it was not authentic.
Also, did the Mac (I assume you bought it second hand) come with the original install disks?

Last edited:

Diggler

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2012
Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
Have you tried updating it to Mountain Lion yet? You say you can't seem to update, but then ask whether you should buy it?