Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

marcperrot

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 31, 2012
Canada
I was going to get a MacBook Air this summer, but decided to hold off to see what I could get in the rumoured 13" Retina MacBook Pro. Now that's it out, and I've compared the two, I'm leaning toward the MacBook Air, but I wanted to check and see if there's anything else I might not be taking into account.

I'm looking at the 13" MBA with 2.0Ghz/8GB/256GB for $1699 or the 13" rMBP with 2.5Ghz/8GB/256GB for $1999. I'll mainly be using it for basic tasks (web browsing, watching videos, word processing), occasional use of Photoshop, and some gaming (Civ5, the new SimCity, and possibly LOTRO due to the forthcoming Mac client). I have a preference for the MBA because of its slim form factor, though I know the rMBP is also very slim, its price, and its screen, as it's noticeably better than the 2009 MBP I'm currently using.

My main questions on the rMBP are whether or not the difference in processors would make a big difference for my usage, and if the screen is so much better it's worth an extra $300? Is there anything else that makes the rMBP better than the MBA?

Finally, I'd like your thoughts on AppleCare. I've owned an iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4S, iPad, and MacBook Pro and have had AppleCare on none of them, and never run into an issue. Do you guys regularly purchase AppleCare? Is it worth the extra $279?

Thanks in advance for your comments!

comatose81

macrumors 6502a
Dec 17, 2009
I think the 13" rMBP is overpriced and I would never give it a second thought. If I wanted a 13" MacBook, it would be an Air. If I wanted a retina display MacBook, it would be the 15".