Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:15 AM   #1
UnixMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
World of Warcraft on your new Retina... performance?

So I'm a bit disappointed in the performance I'm seeing in wow on my new laptop... I sprung for the top of the line, but I can't even run the game in "Recommended" settings which is well below max at any more than 10-15 fps... granted I'm on a high pop realm, but should this be? Did Bliz kick up the graphics that much? or is this a case of badly optimized graphics for the mac?

Would I get much better performance running it under windows 8?

Anyone else have any feedback?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 01:01 PM   #2
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I'm assuming from your specs you mean the 15" rMBP.

1. Do not run at 2880x1800... run a lower res, or it will run slow.

2. turn off the auto graphics switching so the nvidia GPU is on all the time. Some games have problems at times with auto switching and I have no idea why... and some games get slightly better performance if you do this.

3. Try resetting your SMC and see how it works... some people have complained about their GPUs getting stuck in a low power cool mode and running bad, and a SMC reset often fixes that.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:05 PM   #3
UnixMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
thanks, the lower res helped, but its odd as the games own best or recommended settings call for the 2880 res..
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:39 PM   #4
Graeme43
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Great Britain
Send a message via AIM to Graeme43 Send a message via MSN to Graeme43 Send a message via Yahoo to Graeme43 Send a message via Skype™ to Graeme43
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnixMac View Post
thanks, the lower res helped, but its odd as the games own best or recommended settings call for the 2880 res..
It just recommends the highest resolution the screen can run as the game was made when 1024x78 was stiill common
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66, 10GB RAM, ATI 6870; MacBook Pro 2.4, 6GB RAM, 1TB SSHD; Titanium PowerBook 500MHz; iPod Nano, iPhone 5, iPad 4, Airport Express. Mac OS X 10.9
Graeme43 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC