Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:27 AM   #1
Absrnd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Fusion Drive kicks a$$ !

It's the MacMini, but you get the point


Last edited by OllyW; Nov 9, 2012 at 05:57 AM. Reason: Please use youtube tags
Absrnd is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:38 AM   #2
Icaras
macrumors 601
 
Icaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California, United States
Yup saw this vid earlier. Awesome speeds. I can see Apple standardizing Fusion drives in all desktop Macs eventually.
__________________
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) iPad Air 2 iPhone 6 Apple TV (3rd Generation) Airport Time Capsule
Icaras is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:54 AM   #3
DeafRaiders
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
That video made my mind up Fusion Drive is the way forward!
__________________
iPod Nano 1st Gen | iPad 16GB 1st Gen (wifi+3G) | iPhone 5 16GB | iPhone 6+ 64GB | iMac Late 2012 (1st iMac) | iPad Mini with Retina Display
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:04 AM   #4
R1PPER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I put an external SSD Thunderbolt on my Imac as a boot drive and im getting 200/400 speeds. Teflon smooth baby.
R1PPER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:05 AM   #5
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Im hoping we can get that done with older early 2012 mac mini! I have the base model with a dual hard drive ssd for the main osx and 1tb on the other drive!
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:27 AM   #6
naiver12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Sry, but the system is empty in this Demo. Its only writing on the SSD... You have to test it with a system which is bigger than the size of the SSD.

@aziatiklover
Yes, you can do this. I did it with my 2011 Imac ssd+hdd.
naiver12 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:32 AM   #7
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by naiver12 View Post
Sry, but the system is empty in this Demo. Its only writing on the SSD... You have to test it with a system which is bigger than the size of the SSD.

@aziatiklover
Yes, you can do this. I did it with my 2011 Imac ssd+hdd.
How do you enable that in osx ML? Will it work the same as Apple OEM ssd+hdd! I have a crucial 128gb ssd and a 1tb hdd forgot the brand tho.
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:08 AM   #8
Confuzzzed
macrumors 68000
 
Confuzzzed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Liverpool, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by naiver12 View Post
Sry, but the system is empty in this Demo. Its only writing on the SSD... You have to test it with a system which is bigger than the size of the SSD.
Yes, but it is also relatively untrained (i.e. not taking benefit of the software that manages what storage). So you will obviously lose some speed when thet two systems are been used in parallel but I suspect all OS related tasks will be lightning fast. What you can expect some speed sacrifice will be accessing data like photo or video files in thumbnail format.

I can live with that.
Confuzzzed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:35 PM   #9
SuperRob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by naiver12 View Post
Sry, but the system is empty in this Demo. Its only writing on the SSD... You have to test it with a system which is bigger than the size of the SSD.
It still shouldn't matter. The way the Fusion Drive works, you're always writing and reading from the SSD first. It only ever fails over to the HDD if a write goes over the 4GB set aside on the SSD for writes, or if the data being read from is on the HD.

Really, you'd need a write test over 4GB, and even then, you only see the speed change after the 4GB limit is hit.
SuperRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haswell iMac - Fusion drive or No Fusion drive? NbinHD iMac 14 Sep 24, 2013 03:00 PM
iMac no longer sees fusion drive after hard drive replacement cole01 iMac 6 Jul 21, 2013 12:44 PM
VMware Fusion 4 and Fusion Drive Kilamite Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 24, 2013 05:54 AM
Going from a rig with 7200 drive, will the 5400 side of a Fusion drive annoy me? Whackintosh iMac 9 Feb 25, 2013 05:46 PM
27in 2011 iMac Fusion Drive & removing optical drive ZMacintosh iMac 1 Jan 22, 2013 12:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC