Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

baxlobs

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 21, 2012
Suffolk UK
Hi,

I am a Mac forum newbie looking for some advice. I have a dying PC running WinXP, and am going to get an iMac as soon as they are available.

I hope I can migrate my data etc. across using the Migration utility, although what might happen if the PC crashes in the middle I don't know, but I am unsure about peripheral compatibility.

I have 2 printers, Canon PIXMA IP 4600 and HP Laserjet 1022. Will the iMac have drivers for these or will I need to download them?

I also have an Epson 2400Photo scanner, same question.

Most of my data files are Word or Excel, which Office for Mac will be able to read I gather, but I also have a few Access databases, is there a Mac program that could deal with these?

Look forward to your advice.

Last edited:

joe-h2o

macrumors 6502a
Jun 24, 2012
Hi,

I am a Mac forum newbie looking for some advice. I have a dying PC running WinXP, and am going to get an iMac as soon as they are available.

I hope I can migrate my data etc. across using the Migration utility, although what might happen if the PC crashes in the middle I don't know, but I am unsure about peripheral compatibility.

I have 2 printers, Canon PIXMA IP 4600 and HP Laserjet 1022. Will the iMac have drivers for these or will I need to download them?

I also have an Epson 2400Photo scanner, same question.

Most of my data files are Word or Excel, which Office for Mac will be able to read I gather, but I also have a few Access databases, is there a Mac program that could deal with these?

Look forward to your advice.

The HP LaserJet 1022 works on OS X via USB no problem. Not sure about the the Canon, but I'd be amazed if it didn't work.