Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:07 AM   #1
alexandre16
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Taking the background of an image in Aperture

Hi everyone.

I am new with aperture and i am trying to get only the background of an image, but i dont know how i can do it with aperture, i was searching in youtube and google but i didnt find anything that can help.

Anyone know if it is possible to do with aperture, and if it is, how can i do it?

Thanks
alexandre16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 06:35 AM   #2
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexandre16 View Post
i am trying to get only the background of an image
You'll have to explain more precisely what you want to do, because it could mean many different things .
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 05:05 PM   #3
alexandre16
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by initialsBB View Post
You'll have to explain more precisely what you want to do, because it could mean many different things .

Well i have an image with some people and cars, and in the background have a beautiful part of an Autodromo, how can i take only the part of the Autodromo?

Thanks
alexandre16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 06:18 PM   #4
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
If the people are standing to the side of what you want, you can use the crop tool to isolate just that part of the photo. If the people are standing in front of the subject, Aperture has no way to just remove the people. That is a fairly advanced PhotoShop operation.

Post the pic so we can see what your talking about.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:12 AM   #5
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexandre16 View Post
Well i have an image with some people and cars, and in the background have a beautiful part of an Autodromo, how can i take only the part of the Autodromo?

Thanks
If you want to crop, here's a straight forward tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=teGQu-61njs
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:00 AM   #6
MCAsan
macrumors 68020
 
MCAsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
OnOne plugins for Aperture and Lightroom will do the background change. Look at Perfect Layers.

Www.ononesoftware.com
__________________
Retina MBP 11,3 2.6GHz | 16GB | 1TB
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:29 PM   #7
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexandre16 View Post
Hi everyone.

I am new with aperture and i am trying to get only the background of an image, but i dont know how i can do it with aperture, i was searching in youtube and google but i didnt find anything that can help.

Anyone know if it is possible to do with aperture, and if it is, how can i do it?

Thanks
Aperture is not an image editor. For that get a copy of Adobe Photoshop. Photoshop "Elements is not expensive and does everything you'd want. In Aperture (and also in iPhoto) you can specify in Preferences which app to use as your "image editor" then when you double click an image it comes up in that app and when you save it goes back to Aperture/iPhoto.

Aperture is for sorting, storing, organizing an for making limited adjustments and crops to images. Yes it does have so simple editing tools for re-touch and so on. But for rely edits, like removing objects, you need something like PS "Elements".
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Background image does not fit PlutoM4 iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Apr 19, 2014 09:53 AM
iPhone: SMS Background image GRay2102 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 13 Jan 14, 2014 05:02 AM
combine a background image, another image and a video in iMovie 10? MacMan988 Digital Video 0 Oct 27, 2013 04:52 AM
Change background to white using Aperture ssloshh Digital Photography 6 May 8, 2013 01:25 PM
Background Image rheb1026 iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Jul 29, 2012 10:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC