Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:48 AM   #1
adildacoolset
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Maybe some more CPU titles after G5

Maybe we should have things like A4, A5, A5X, A6, A6X after someone has passed the G5 status. Just a suggestion. Please take it into consideration.
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:21 AM   #2
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Suggest we stay with Intel CPUs afterwards ... As all CPUs from the list are Mac CPUs and not iDevices.

CoreDuo, C2D, i3, i5, i7 ...or some Xeons ...
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app. doessizematter ?
ChristianJapan is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:34 AM   #3
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
What about adding the Intel CPU designations, and dropping the required post count of some of the PowerPC designations? Then people with a G5 now would end up with an i7 designation and then carry it on backwards down the line from there?
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
...the tiger striping is so beautiful it makes me want to cry.
SandboxGeneral is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:37 AM   #4
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
What's to say we don't already have them planned
__________________
Does size matter?
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:45 AM   #5
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I'd like to keep the PPC designation but I'm open to new ones.
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:45 AM   #6
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
That would be nice to adopt a bit ... The 5000 jump in between is difficult ...

At by the way: I was wondering if that is correct ... Between 68010 and 68020 ... Only 5 ? Or is it because the 010 was not soo relevant ?

68000 => 1,505 posts
68010 => 2,000 posts
68020 => 2,005 posts
68030 => 2,500 posts

Please fix after I reached 68020
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app. doessizematter ?
ChristianJapan is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:46 AM   #7
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
That would be nice ... The 5000 jump in between is difficult ...

At by the way: I was wondering if that is correct ... Between 68010 and 68020 ... Only 5 ? Or is it because the 010 was not soo relevant ?

68000 => 1,505 posts
68010 => 2,000 posts
68020 => 2,005 posts
68030 => 2,500 posts

Please fix after I reached 68020
From memory that particular processor was only used for a very short time...hence the 5 posts.
__________________
Does size matter?

Last edited by stridemat; Nov 25, 2012 at 05:52 AM.
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:52 AM   #8
adildacoolset
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Suggest we stay with Intel CPUs afterwards ... As all CPUs from the list are Mac CPUs and not iDevices.

CoreDuo, C2D, i3, i5, i7 ...or some Xeons ...
But the thing is that these are Apple-made chips. So, maybe we can use Apple-made chips on an Apple site??
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:54 AM   #9
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Technically they're not apple made but designed by Apple insofar that the chips are actually produced by Samsung.

I like the idea however that we use the A5/A5X/A6 for the reasons you mentioned
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:34 AM   #10
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Emotionally it moves us away from the desktop/laptops and we indirect agree that Apples future is on iDevices ...
Plus it seems strange that a powerful user with a G5 have now to jump to a A4 ... CPU Geekbench would be the guidance for the continuity ...

But anyway: for me still a very long way before it comes to a "real" problem; I'm still in Motorola 68k familiy.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app. doessizematter ?
ChristianJapan is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:54 AM   #11
adildacoolset
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Technically they're not apple made but designed by Apple insofar that the chips are actually produced by Samsung.

I like the idea however that we use the A5/A5X/A6 for the reasons you mentioned
Produced by Samsung as the batch manufacturer.

Honestly, this site isn't foxconnrumors. Batch manufacturers are there, but apple is the design
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:05 PM   #12
mrichmon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by adildacoolset View Post
But the thing is that these are Apple-made chips. So, maybe we can use Apple-made chips on an Apple site??
Note that the existing titles are not Apple-made chips. Apple simply sourced the chips from existing manufacturers just like they are currently sourcing Intel chips from Intel.

Chip - Manufacturer
6802 - MOS Technology
6802a - MOS Technology
65816 - Western Design Center
65832 - MOS Technology (Not put into production)
68000 - Motorola
68010 - Motorola
68020 - Motorola
68030 - Motorola
68040 - Motorola
601 - Motorola/IBM alliance
603 - Motorola/IBM alliance
604 - Motorola/IBM alliance
G3 - IBM/Motorola (Freescale)
G4 - Freescale
G5 - IBM
mrichmon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:18 AM   #13
adildacoolset
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrichmon View Post
Note that the existing titles are not Apple-made chips. Apple simply sourced the chips from existing manufacturers just like they are currently sourcing Intel chips from Intel.

Chip - Manufacturer
6802 - MOS Technology
6802a - MOS Technology
65816 - Western Design Center
65832 - MOS Technology (Not put into production)
68000 - Motorola
68010 - Motorola
68020 - Motorola
68030 - Motorola
68040 - Motorola
601 - Motorola/IBM alliance
603 - Motorola/IBM alliance
604 - Motorola/IBM alliance
G3 - IBM/Motorola (Freescale)
G4 - Freescale
G5 - IBM
What I really meant was that A6 and that are all progressive chips in number, whereas i7 and i5 and i3 remain the same throughout generations. So having the number increasing with each generation can signify a greater number of posts, and experience.
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 11:29 AM   #14
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
They've already stated what comes next, in the current naming scheme:
Quote:
G3 => 20,000 posts
G4 => 25,000 posts
G5 => 30,000 posts
etc....
I'm a big fan of the "etc." title!

It appears they've either decided to use G5 for all post counts above 30K, or they haven't decided on what to use next, or they've increased the post count increment required for the next level. At any rate, it's interesting trivia about the history of processors Apple has used, but not much more. Whatever they elect to use is fine.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:33 PM   #15
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
We're looking at various options regarding the user title arrangement in the back room. If you or anyone else has any ideas we'd like to hear them for consideration.
After G5:

51xx (Woodcrest)
53xx (Clovertown)
54xx (Harpertown)
55xx (Gainstown)
56xx (Gulftown)

Obviously it would be just the numbers.


If you wanted to really drag it out:

5130
5150
5160
X5365
E5462
E5472
X5482
E5520
X5550
X5570
E5620
E5645
X5650
X5670
X5675

This ought to get you guys to 110,000 before needing new titles! Hopefully by then we would have a new Mac Pro to pick processor numbers from.

(The W3xxx series are technically valid, but they're for uniprocessor configuration only)
__________________
Does size matter?
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod

Last edited by alphaod; Nov 30, 2012 at 02:42 PM.
alphaod is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:04 AM   #16
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by adildacoolset View Post
Maybe we should have things like A4, A5, A5X, A6, A6X after someone has passed the G5 status. Just a suggestion. Please take it into consideration.
The G5 was a processor for non-mobile workstations and servers. The A4 and so on are processors for mobile platforms.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 05:14 AM   #17
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by adildacoolset View Post
Maybe we should have things like A4, A5, A5X, A6, A6X after someone has passed the G5 status. Just a suggestion. Please take it into consideration.
Please don't take this into consideration.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Suggest we stay with Intel CPUs afterwards ... As all CPUs from the list are Mac CPUs and not iDevices.

CoreDuo, C2D, i3, i5, i7 ...or some Xeons ...
Please take this into consideration instead.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 06:54 AM   #18
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Please don't take this into consideration.
Why not?
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
...the tiger striping is so beautiful it makes me want to cry.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:49 AM   #19
AQUADock
macrumors 65816
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Why not?
Because everything is so iOS these days, Intel processor names would be better imo.
__________________
Mac Mini i5 - iPad 2 - GS3
AQUADock is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:10 AM   #20
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Why not?
AquaDock answered it for me. This is Mac Rumours and I feel that the names should be referencing CPUs used in Macs, not in iOS devices. There are already too many annoying posts on this forum where people complain about the iSimplification or iPadification or iInsert_your_own_smart_made_up_word when they to prove the "iToys are ruining OS X" conspiracy theory. I think using iOS CPU device identifiers would upset that particular user group even more.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:00 AM   #21
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:11 AM   #22
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
I was of the differing opinion until I just read your explanation. Now I am thinking it would make more sense.
__________________
Does size matter?
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:26 AM   #23
AQUADock
macrumors 65816
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
But I think it would be cool to be called Macroumours Santa Rosa or Harpertown and so on. But whatever if the majority want boring names like A4 and A5 then so be it.
__________________
Mac Mini i5 - iPad 2 - GS3
AQUADock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:40 PM   #24
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
There were multiple iterations of the g3, g4, and g5 too.

I would rather stick to cpu chips as that is what all the other rankings are. You do not see cpus associated with a newton or ipods as rankings

There will be a time when intel is not using the i3, i5, i7 moniker and will be on to something else

Keep it with cpu brandings imo

core solo/ core duo/ core 2 duo/ core i3/ core i5/ core i7 seems pretty easy to implement to me
dukebound85 is offline   2 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New dual core CPU > older quad CPU? (for Logic) vladobizik MacBook Pro 28 Sep 9, 2013 02:17 PM
High CPU/RAM usage and CPU Temp. after 1 year of Lion on MBP M-2009 DoctorDrakonas MacBook Pro 5 Aug 1, 2013 09:08 PM
MacBook Pro CPU fan running no reason (hot), MassStorageCamera using all CPU Pollsy123 Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 14, 2013 09:07 PM
How do you identify Dual-CPU PowerMac G4's from Single-CPU models? LOLZpersonok PowerPC Macs 12 Aug 15, 2012 05:32 AM
4.1 Dual socket cpu-tray in single cpu Mac Pro? Zurec Mac Pro 1 Jul 17, 2012 06:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC