Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:47 PM   #1
js09
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Turbo Boost 3.6GHz for both 27" models - why pay more?

if both the $1800 and $2000 imacs both run at 3.6Ghz, why pay for the more expensive one?
js09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:51 PM   #2
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by js09 View Post
if both the $1800 and $2000 imacs both run at 3.6Ghz, why pay for the more expensive one?
The more expensive one has a *much much much* better GPU.

The better CPU is just a bonus at that point.
joe-h2o is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:32 PM   #3
js09
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe-h2o View Post
The more expensive one has a *much much much* better GPU.

The better CPU is just a bonus at that point.
meh.. neither have a good GPU so i don't care much about that.. I just want to know how the CPU works. are both CPU's identical after enabling turbo boost?

----------

I wouldnt be surprised if both 27" models have the exact same CPU (ie.. intel 2500k). where can i find out?
js09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:33 PM   #4
njooste
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Actually, the 680mx is quite a beast
njooste is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:43 PM   #5
lixuelai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
The 3.6Ghz Turbo Boost only kicks in if you are only utilizing 1 core which is fairly rare.

btw the two processors are most likely i5-3470 and i5-3470S.

Last edited by lixuelai; Nov 29, 2012 at 03:49 PM.
lixuelai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:46 PM   #6
vladfein
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lixuelai View Post
The 3.6Ghz Turbo Boost only kicks in if you are utilizing only 1 core which is fairly rare.
Where is this info from?
Sure not from http://www.apple.com/imac/performance/ ...
vladfein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:48 PM   #7
js09
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by njooste View Post
Actually, the 680mx is quite a beast
no, not really. it depends on what it's used for

anyway, just guessing 2 of these processors are the ones used:


i5-3470S (2.9GHz)
i5-3470 (3.2GHz)

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladfein View Post
Where is this info from?
Sure not from http://www.apple.com/imac/performance/ ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by lixuelai View Post
The 3.6Ghz Turbo Boost only kicks in if you are only utilizing 1 core which is fairly rare.
If I had to guess, the turbo boost only kicks in when utilizing all 4 cores to their max. it just idle's at the base speed. kicking in upon 1 core sounds retarded.. but maybe

edit: just read the link above. looks like i'm probably right
js09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:02 PM   #8
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by js09 View Post
no, not really. it depends on what it's used for

anyway, just guessing 2 of these processors are the ones used:


i5-3470S (2.9GHz)
i5-3470 (3.2GHz)

----------





If I had to guess, the turbo boost only kicks in when utilizing all 4 cores to their max. it just idle's at the base speed. kicking in upon 1 core sounds retarded.. but maybe

edit: just read the link above. looks like i'm probably right


I'm not sure what plane of reality you're from where you think the 680MX is "not really" a good GPU, but can I visit? It sounds weird and wonderful there!
joe-h2o is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:06 PM   #9
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by js09 View Post
If I had to guess, the turbo boost only kicks in when utilizing all 4 cores to their max. it just idle's at the base speed. kicking in upon 1 core sounds retarded.. but maybe
Totally wrong. Current processors are limited by the heat they produce. More MHz = more heat. More cores running = more heat. Running fast for long time = more heat.

An Intel processor sold as "2.9 GHz" can run at 2.9 GHz with all cores running 24/7. If only one core is running, and the computer has been idle and is therefore quite cool, only then can it run at the higher "Turbo" speed. So if you need a computer running at full speed all the time, look at the lowest quoted speed.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:05 PM   #10
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by js09 View Post
meh.. neither have a good GPU so i don't care much about that.. I just want to know how the CPU works. are both CPU's identical after enabling turbo boost?

----------

I wouldnt be surprised if both 27" models have the exact same CPU (ie.. intel 2500k). where can i find out?
The 680mx is as fast as an underclocked desktop 680mx(and Apple likely overclocked it like on their MBPs so it's probably on par) .

Is it fun not knowing what you're talking about?
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:10 PM   #11
js09
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I use a quadro so I should rephrase and say the GPU is not suitable for my needs. it does look like a worthwhile upgrade, though.
js09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:11 PM   #12
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by js09 View Post
I use a quadro so I should rephrase and say the GPU is not suitable for my needs. it does look like a worthwhile upgrade, though.
I heard that a lot of the current gaming cards are out performing the quadro for professional tasks these days. Therefore the 680mx might just do that too haha. The CUDA cores for GPU rendering in gaming cards seem to be the culprit for that I think.
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:11 PM   #13
KhrisGarcia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by js09 View Post
meh.. neither have a good GPU so i don't care much about that.. I just want to know how the CPU works. are both CPU's identical after enabling turbo boost?

I wouldnt be surprised if both 27" models have the exact same CPU (ie.. intel 2500k). where can i find out?
Maybe not for you but there is a huge difference between the 660m and the 675mx/680mx. I'd say that for casual gaming the 675mx is needed at a minimum. Considering Apple only wants to make things even thinner this is as good as we're going to see in such a small form factor. The 660m is similar to the 6750m in my 17" MBP, which is "meh".


You can check out everymac.com for exact CPU model numbers shipping with the new iMacs.
KhrisGarcia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to consider "Turbo Boost" Rootkitty MacBook Pro 12 Mar 23, 2014 09:56 AM
Clarifying the question of "if both turbo boost to 3.3Ghz, what's the real speed?" Doward MacBook Pro 4 Jul 7, 2013 07:09 AM
Can someone explain Turbo Boost to 2.6GHz? Dookieman MacBook Air 5 Jun 13, 2013 02:13 AM
Turbo boost on 2011 11" air? mototriu MacBook Air 1 Aug 3, 2012 02:14 PM
"Turbo boost" lightmyway MacBook Air 1 Jun 11, 2012 04:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC