Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:54 PM   #1
iCaleb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
I wish the new iMacs had 3 thunderbolt ports.

Here's what I would like to do........Have 2 1080p 21.5'' monitors to go with the iMac screen one to the left and one to the right.

But at the same time I would also like to have an external drive set as the main boot drive running mountain lion.

But with the two TB ports already taken up by the two hdmi monitors the only option would be to use a usb 3.0 drive as the main boot drive instead of a TB ssd drive.

How much faster would the usb 3.0 ssd/hdd drive be compared to the internal standard hdd?
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:06 PM   #2
dlbmacfan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
You can daisy chain Thunderbolt peripherals, so I think you can put an external TB drive in between the computer and one of your monitors.
dlbmacfan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:24 PM   #3
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbmacfan View Post
You can daisy chain Thunderbolt peripherals, so I think you can put an external TB drive in between the computer and one of your monitors.
I can only afford the lacie rugged TB ssd drive but it only has one TB port making it non daisy chain able.

Your idea would only work with the pricey Little big disk ssd which has two TB ports.
iCaleb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:27 PM   #4
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 604
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
I can only afford the lacie rugged TB ssd drive but it only has one TB port making it non daisy chain able.

Your idea would only work with the pricey Little big disk ssd which has two TB ports.
Can you put the SSD/boot drive at the end of the chain? iMac->TBD->SSD/boot.
__________________
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 6 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:33 PM   #5
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Can you put the SSD/boot drive at the end of the chain? iMac->TBD->SSD/boot.
I would be using two dell 21.5 inch displays via hdmi to DP not the TB display.

If I could only find a hard drive with two TB ports for under 300.
iCaleb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:51 PM   #6
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
right there with you. Even thunderbolt hubs seem to be starting at 250ish
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 02:45 PM   #7
deconstruct60
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
If I could only find a hard drive with two TB ports for under 300.
Don't need the drive to have the TB ports.

eSATA adapter $199

http://www.lacie.com/products/product.htm?id=10574

If already have a quad interface drive ( eSATA , FW800/400, usb 2.0 ) then done for a $100 less than $300.

Otherwise just need a drive with an eSATA port for about $100.

If already have a drive then $99 enclosure

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/ME3QHKIT0GB/

and done. $300 (before taxes/shipping )

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by xgman View Post
This is a big problem right now. I had to spend a fortune on dual TB enclosures to be able to get extra ports. I needed to be able to house 5 drives via TB.
Likewise, somewhat wrongheaded constrictions. What really looking for is a 5+ enclosure with SATA connections.

If find box and that worry about how to connect the SATA box to TB there are more options.

What is missing is empty, multibay enclosures that don't weave an relatively expensive RAID controller ( and functionality) into the system. Basically something that is just a JBOD box. Those boxes exist though. They just typically have SAS or eSATA connectors on them.
deconstruct60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you use your Thunderbolt ports and if you do, for what? Hieveryone MacBook Pro 61 Jun 25, 2014 04:58 PM
10.9.2 broke one of my Thunderbolt ports. fratey OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Mar 7, 2014 10:44 AM
Which DACs are compatible with USB 3 ports on iMacs? ed45 iMac 0 Oct 24, 2013 11:05 PM
Bad Thunderbolt ports?? meaganmargaret iMac 4 Mar 9, 2013 03:14 AM
2 x Thunderbolt ports mean 2 x monitors? Tombs MacBook Pro 23 Jun 11, 2012 05:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC