Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:32 PM   #1
crazytom
macrumors 6502a
 
crazytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: IL
Using Mac as DVR/PVR/DVHS vs. Cable Company

I recently attempted to use my mac as a digital recorder of a network TV show through the Firewire on my cable box and I came to a sad realization. It's looking like the cable operators and the 'anti-pirating nazis' have won the battle. Years ago, we could program a VCR and watch our preferred show at a later time. Now...I can't find a way to do it without paying extra to the cable company.

Here's what I tried so far:

MacBookPro, FW hard drive, Comcast cable, Motorola RNG110 box, FireRecord (freeware), VLC (freeware), Apple's AVCVideoCap(ture) + related programs (DVHS, etc).

After trying multiple times to capture a network FOX broadcast, I always came up with nothing. I discovered that the Motorola box provided had the 1394 port (Firewire) set to 'Disabled'. Doing more research and finding the FCC's regulation 76.640(i) that states the cable operator shall:

Quote:
Effective April 1, 2004, upon request of a customer, replace any leased high definition set-top box, which does not include a functional IEEE 1394 interface, with one that includes a functional IEEE 1394 interface or upgrade the customerís set-top box by download or other means to ensure that the IEEE 1394 interface is functional.
I called/visited my cable company (Comcast) to get a Firewire enabled STB (set top box), to which they responded, "That ain't gonna happen."

An FCC complaint has been filed.


What do you think: Am I fighting a losing battle here? Is there anyone that is successfully using their mac as a digital VHS?

I know there's other sticky issues that the cable company is doing that are breaking the law, like network TV that is broadcast in full HD, Comcast is reducing the resolution to 480i despite the FCC regulation 76.1904(a) that states:

Quote:
(a) Commercial audiovisual content delivered as unencrypted broadcast television shall not be encoded so as to prevent or limit copying thereof by
covered products or, to constrain the resolution of the image when output
from a covered product.
But, of course, Comcast says that I must PAY for the HD package in order to view the network stations that are already TRANSMITTED in HD, which Comcast is reducing to SD, back to the original HD.

It's an aggravating and very confusing issue with all the changes to digital signal. Is there anyone out there that still uses their mac as a DVHS? I'd love to hear your setup, cable company, STB model and any extra info, if possible. I'd like to hear other thoughts and opinions, too.
__________________
Don't know what to believe, get the facts: www.factcheck.org
crazytom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 06:39 PM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Cut the cable if OTA is an option. A EyeTV or WMC are both excellent DVRs.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 10:11 PM   #3
Madmic23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Dump the freeware and buy this: http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/main...oduct1.en.html

It's a video capture device from EyeTV. You hook your cable box into this via the component cables. It has an IR blaster to change the channel on the cable receiver at the appropriate time to record a show.

You could then have EyeTV export the videos to iTunes and watch them on an Apple TV in a different room in the house.

Lots of info on the EyeTV website, check it out.
__________________
MacBook 2.16Ghz, iMac 21.5", i5
WWE Stole My Camera!
Check out my pictures of Hulk Hogan's new back tattoo!
Madmic23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 05:39 PM   #4
xdxdaustin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut, United States
I'm surprised you're having/had such trouble! I have Comcast and our Motorola can record just about anything.
xdxdaustin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2013, 06:01 PM   #5
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
FCC rules aren't going to mean much with the new Cable/telco lobbyist running the FCC.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 08:46 PM   #6
Richdmoore
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I agree, these companies are out of control.

One thing with the eyetv one, I have had issues due to having to many USB hard drives and other devices. Even now that I have reduced the USB devices it is still a bit flaky.

If your cable company uses cablecard, right now basically the only commercial software that works is for windows media center. Hopefully after silicon dust releases it's hdhr4-cc we will have more options, as it hardware transcodes and uses dnla to stream the program to any compatible device.

I am using the eyetv one for now, and waiting to hopefully switch to cablecards once Mac native hardware/software is developed.
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 08:49 PM   #7
portishead
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
You're screwed. You need to run Windows to capture/record from the cable companies.
portishead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Tuner/PVR for Mac Mini noahmateen1234 Mac mini 1 Jan 10, 2014 09:04 AM
If Apple is having issues with content, why not buy networks or cable company? lulla01 Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 8 Dec 23, 2013 11:38 PM
iPhone: Bypass Cable Company Check? bunger Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 8, 2013 03:42 PM
Time Warner (cisco) DVR cable box. rick snagwell Community Discussion 7 Jul 9, 2012 09:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC