Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:05 PM   #1
ylagandre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Opening Application In Multiple Instances

I would like to open an application (ToneGen, a sine wave generator) in multiple instances. A quick search on google led me to a command line in terminal, a program of which I was not previously aware. The command line does not work for ToneGen; although, I tested it on Safari and it worked perfectly in that instance. Is there anything else I can do to open this application multiple times? Why does the command line work for some applications and not others?
ylagandre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:39 PM   #2
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Please explain why you need multiple instances. What are you trying to accomplish?
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:26 PM   #3
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Safari allows multiple windows, perhaps ToneGen doesn't. Check their FAQ page, if they have one.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:50 PM   #4
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
ToneGen can generate up to 16 simultaneous tones, according to their product pages. These can be different waveforms, too. That's why I asked the OP for an explanation of what they're trying to accomplish.

http://www.nch.com.au/tonegen/index.html


The original question is a typical example of an XY Problem:
http://www.perlmonks.org/index.pl?node_id=542341
.. You want to do X, and you think Y is the best way of doing it.
.. Instead of asking about X, you ask about Y.

Here, Y is "open multiple instances". We have yet to learn what X is.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 07:07 PM   #5
ylagandre
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I am using ToneGen to parametrically equalize my headphones. Certain frequencies are perceived louder than others on any set of headphones. You can determine the peaks by sweeping over the frequency spectrum and listening for where the volume raises. It is true that one can make up to 16 separate tones in ToneGen; however, I, at least, cannot find a way to mute separate tracks in order to discern the veritable difference in volume between tones. I thought that by opening separate instances of ToneGen I could quickly switch between tones and accurately note the correct decibel level with which to compensate for on the equalizer. If it is simply not possible then I will simply do without... There is, on the other hand, a program for Windows that is designed for this (SineGen) but I do not have a Windows partition to run it on. I'm improvising.
ylagandre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 07:45 PM   #6
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Many (most?) Mac OS X apps will not work properly when multiple instances are run at the same time. There are various technical reasons for this, which I won't go into. Some apps work; others don't; there's no way to predict which way it will go.


The last time I did any serious EQ, I used a sweep, which ToneGen will do. I did not spend the extra effort to do separate A/B tone testing.

ToneGen has the capability to write audio files. So generate a series of single tones, and save each one to a separate file. Then open the files in QuickTime Player for playback. You can then play them back individually or together.

Or you could use the program "Audacity", which is a full-featured audio editor. It's definitely overkill for this task, and is a cross-platform program, so it has a "not like a Real Mac App" look, but it's not hard to figure out how to do the basics. For example, you could use its builtin signal generator to make A/B alternating tones.

I also suggest filing a feature-request with the makers of ToneGen. Generating A/B tones, or at least being able to easily mute/unmute individual tones seems like it would be a good feature.

Good luck.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 08:12 PM   #7
ylagandre
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Of course, what a simple solution. Thank you.
ylagandre is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Objective-C instances of objects as as units / making new, unforeseen instances Ja Di ksw Mac Programming 28 Oct 28, 2013 01:33 PM
Multiple Instances of NSWindow? Blakeasd Mac Programming 8 Sep 7, 2013 09:06 PM
Multiple instances of same app in "Open With" dkl OS X 3 Mar 21, 2013 06:57 PM
Multiple instances of the same app in "Open With" dialog SuperSnake2012 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 4, 2013 02:04 PM
Rules with Parallels and multiple OS X instances... Imhotep397 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Aug 27, 2012 03:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC