Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 08:28 PM   #1
Philalbe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greater Boston Area
Witcher 2 Mac Settings?

Hi. Last night (I'm sure like many others) I downloaded "The Witcher 2" from the Mac App Store. I'm using a 2012 Mac mini with 8GB ram and a 1920 x 1200 Asus monitor. I notice by default the game wants to use my monitors native resolution (or something close to it). This results in awesome looking graphics but very laggy performance even when specs are set to medium. I tried experimenting with other resolutions which helps with the smoothness of gameplay but sometimes made things look a little off (fat or stretched) maybe it's in my head I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good resolution. Thanks in advance.

Sincerely,

Phil
Philalbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:42 AM   #2
sjz88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
How about setting specs to low? Witcher 2 is pretty demanding!
sjz88 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:53 AM   #3
Philalbe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greater Boston Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjz88 View Post
How about setting specs to low? Witcher 2 is pretty demanding!
Hi. Thanks for the response!

I agree...it is quite demanding. I think I found some settings that work for me though. I set the rez down to 1200x800 and put the settings back up to high and surprisingly it's running pretty smooth. Much shorter load times too. I was even able to leave "motion blur" enabled, althought I must admit it makes me feel kind of seasick
Philalbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:27 AM   #4
sjz88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does it still look good that way? Have you tried leaving the native resolution on and setting the specs to low?
I assume the graphics still look good on low specs and it might run smoothly and look better at the same time.
sjz88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 06:24 AM   #5
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjz88 View Post
Does it still look good that way? Have you tried leaving the native resolution on and setting the specs to low?
I assume the graphics still look good on low specs and it might run smoothly and look better at the same time.
Generally speaking when it comes to games, leaving settings higher but reducing resolution results in the best looking display with improved performance - less pixels to push. If I am running something very demanding, the first thing I would do is try reduced resolution before tweaking much else except perhaps something like complex shadows in a game. I would not expect The Witcher 2 to run at native resolution on my 27" 2011 iMac with a 6970m GPU. I am much more likely to have a good experience maybe trying 1080p with settings turned up as much as I can get away with. I know my system is different but the basic idea here is the same.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 08:48 AM   #6
sjz88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I'll install the Game when my new iMac gets here on tuesday. I'll report from my experiences with the 680mx. I'll definitely give it a try in the native res with settings high.
sjz88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:01 AM   #7
Philalbe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greater Boston Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjz88 View Post
Does it still look good that way? Have you tried leaving the native resolution on and setting the specs to low?
I assume the graphics still look good on low specs and it might run smoothly and look better at the same time.
Hi. The graphics still look good. It's probably because despite the lower resolution I still have the specs on high. The only difference I see, and it could be my imagination, is that with the lower resolution I might be able to notice some "jaggies" on characters during gameplay. The cinematics seem to look identical despite the lower rez.

I haven't tried playing at the native rez with low specs yet. I think I was afraid that with the specs on low, I might lose too much of the atmospheric touches like light and shadows, etc.
Philalbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:15 AM   #8
Philalbe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greater Boston Area
I should mention on a humorous note, that despite spec or resolution settings there are some odd graphical glitches I noticed. At the beginning of the game the Witcher is supposed to be in a tent getting it on with his woman, when he's suddenly interrupted by a guard. The only thing is the tent is non existent. So it looks like the Witcher is having sex out in the open with a creepy guard miming pulling back a curtain.

On a less humorous note there's also odd little things like bushes that look partially composed of black blocks and now and then an annoying pink screen flicker (in fairness that one may have something to do with my monitor).
Philalbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:41 AM   #9
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philalbe View Post

I haven't tried playing at the native rez with low specs yet. I think I was afraid that with the specs on low, I might lose too much of the atmospheric touches like light and shadows, etc.
Honestly, it doesn't look that much different. You do lose some definition and atmospheric effects, but the gulf in quality isn't so big they look like two entirely different games. Case in point...





The top is ultra quality, the bottom low.
Renzatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:29 AM   #10
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philalbe View Post
Hi. Thanks for the response!

I agree...it is quite demanding. I think I found some settings that work for me though. I set the rez down to 1200x800 and put the settings back up to high and surprisingly it's running pretty smooth. Much shorter load times too. I was even able to leave "motion blur" enabled, althought I must admit it makes me feel kind of seasick
I'm downloading it now, too, and wondering of the performance (on iMac mid 2010 though). Generally, if you reduce the resolution, you should always choose one with the same aspect ratio as your monitor's native (e.g. 16:9, 4:3 etc). Choosing a resolution with a different aspect ratio will result in one of the cases below:

1. black lines on screen borders (which is the good case)
2. stretched graphics (which is worst but also more rare as well)
antonis is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:41 AM   #11
ee13lbp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philalbe View Post
Wow! So it looks good and plays well on your 2010 iMac? I wonder why I'm getting so many graphical glitches on my 2012 Mac mini? Maybe it has something to do with the mini's intel graphics card? Despite the cards relative power, maybe it's just not fully compatible? The funny thing is during parts that take place in dungeons or caves the graphical glitches go away
Have you tried playing in bootcamp? If there is incompatibility with the hd4000 on OSX it will probably not occur on windows.

And yes, the mini is definitely not a gaming machine, but it has one very nifty trick up its sleeve and that is the size of it. I always set it under the tv (in less than 5 mins) and I am able to play games at better graphics and resolution a than my ps3
__________________
Mac Mini i5 2.5Ghz | Macbook 2.0Ghz | iPhone 4 16Gb
ee13lbp is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:46 PM   #12
Philalbe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greater Boston Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by ee13lbp View Post
Have you tried playing in bootcamp? If there is incompatibility with the hd4000 on OSX it will probably not occur on windows.

And yes, the mini is definitely not a gaming machine, but it has one very nifty trick up its sleeve and that is the size of it. I always set it under the tv (in less than 5 mins) and I am able to play games at better graphics and resolution a than my ps3
Trying it via bootcamp is a good idea. I wonder if the game is simply "wrapped" and still contains .exe commands?

I also like the idea of using the mini as a console. I never tried hooking it up to HDTV, but that would be awesome...especially with a wireless controller
Philalbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 03:22 AM   #13
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
One thing I like is that all my save games from the PC version can just be copied across and work in the Mac version!
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 04:07 AM   #14
antonis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I've noticed that after a random amount of play time, the sound will just stop.
Quitting and relaunching the game, will bring sound back, until it happens again after a while.

Anyone else having this issue or any workaround ?
antonis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:40 PM   #15
Philalbe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greater Boston Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
I've noticed that after a random amount of play time, the sound will just stop.
Quitting and relaunching the game, will bring sound back, until it happens again after a while.

Anyone else having this issue or any workaround ?
I experienced that issue right out the gate. First time I played, the sound cut out after a few minutes. Did the same as you; closed it out and relaunched and everything was fine. I've read of it happening to a couple of others too. Not sure if there's a permanent fix? Are you experiencing any weird graphical glitches?
Philalbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 01:30 AM   #16
speedylomeli
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lake Tahoe, CA
No go on mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philalbe View Post
Hi. Last night (I'm sure like many others) I downloaded "The Witcher 2" from the Mac App Store. I'm using a 2012 Mac mini with 8GB ram and a 1920 x 1200 Asus monitor. I notice by default the game wants to use my monitors native resolution (or something close to it). This results in awesome looking graphics but very laggy performance even when specs are set to medium. I tried experimenting with other resolutions which helps with the smoothness of gameplay but sometimes made things look a little off (fat or stretched) maybe it's in my head I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good resolution. Thanks in advance.

Sincerely,

Phil
So here is the deal.....Buy a cheap 500 dollar PC and play it at near max quality. I know you want to play it on you shiny looking mac mini, but it just plain sušks..... or just buy yourself a 4000 Mac Pro. I would suggest the earlier because why would anyone spend 4000 g's just for 1 game.
speedylomeli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 05:11 AM   #17
ee13lbp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedylomeli View Post
So here is the deal.....Buy a cheap 500 dollar PC and play it at near max quality. I know you want to play it on you shiny looking mac mini, but it just plain suçks..... or just buy yourself a 4000 Mac Pro. I would suggest the earlier because why would anyone spend 4000 g's just for 1 game.
Not all of us are gaming supremacists who accept nothing but max settings. I play most games on medium, some even high, and I'm completely happy with the performance of the Mac mini in terms of games. Playing games a couple of settings lower than a similarity priced custom pc is, for me, a fine trade off for something I far more enjoy using on a day to day basis when I'm NOT playing games.
__________________
Mac Mini i5 2.5Ghz | Macbook 2.0Ghz | iPhone 4 16Gb
ee13lbp is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Witcher 2 on 10.9.1 Cuyahoga Mac and PC Games 1 Jan 21, 2014 10:30 AM
Windows: The Witcher III luffytubby Mac and PC Games 0 Dec 7, 2013 09:59 PM
Why does Witcher 2 suck on the rMBP and What can I do about it? renosausage MacBook Pro 14 May 22, 2013 06:06 AM
OS-neutral: Witcher 2 Ultra Settings & Ubersampling bobwocky Mac and PC Games 6 Apr 11, 2013 02:15 AM
Batman: Arkham City and The Witcher 2 Arrive in Mac App Store MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 35 Feb 10, 2013 03:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC