Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2012, 02:48 AM   #1
ilantal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
compiling VTK using Xcode

I have a Mac Air OSX 10.8.2 with Xcode 4.5.2 which I am trying to wrap VTK so I can use it within a Java program. This works on both Linux and Windows and I want to extend it to the Mac.
I use CMake 2.8.9 to Configure and Generate. I get the message that Filter ZLIB is ON which I assume is perfectly OK. Then I use Xcode on VTK.xcodeproj which tries to compile the project. I get errors like
Run custom shell script 'CMake PostBuild Rules' where CMakeScripts/vtkWrapJava_postBuildPhase.makeDebug doesn't exist.
This is indeed correct, so such file by that name exists. So how do I get around the problem? How do I tell it that I don't want a post build?

It seems like this is somehow connected to CMake, but I don't see anything obvious in CMake about a post build phase. CMake seems to have dozens of options so I could easily have one of them set incorrectly. None of them have any obvious connection to a post build phase.
Thanks,
Ilan
ilantal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:31 AM   #2
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
You using build instructions here? If you are, the problem's almost certainly these two lines right here:
Code:
CMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES:STRING=ppc;i386
export MACOSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET=10.4
Neither of those work properly on 10.8. Use instead:
Code:
CMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES:STRING=i386
export MACOSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET=10.8
Also, VTK and Java 7 don't yet get along - use Java 6 instead.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:58 AM   #3
ilantal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
In the final analysis I couldn't get Xcode to compile properly the Java wrap. Instead I used ccmake and the Unix make and make install. That at least compiled properly.
As you pointed out Java 7 and VTK don't exactly live together in peace. I got a message saying it was trying to retrograde the 7 back to 6, but the retrograde failed.
What I need is some way to tell the VTK make to use 6 and not 7.
ilantal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 08:09 AM   #4
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilantal View Post
In the final analysis I couldn't get Xcode to compile properly the Java wrap. Instead I used ccmake and the Unix make and make install. That at least compiled properly.
As you pointed out Java 7 and VTK don't exactly live together in peace. I got a message saying it was trying to retrograde the 7 back to 6, but the retrograde failed.
What I need is some way to tell the VTK make to use 6 and not 7.
Set JAVA_HOME to where Java 6 lives. That should help. To do that:

export JAVA_HOME=/path/to/JDK6/Home
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:55 AM   #5
ilantal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
Thank you wrldwzrd89, that was a good idea:

Set JAVA_HOME to where Java 6 lives. That should help. To do that:
export JAVA_HOME=/path/to/JDK6/Home

The problem however is still there. I wonder if it might be because your idea set the path to java, but javac is being used to compile. Is there some sort of "export JAVAC_HOME=/path...."?
ilantal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:05 AM   #6
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilantal View Post
Thank you wrldwzrd89, that was a good idea:

Set JAVA_HOME to where Java 6 lives. That should help. To do that:
export JAVA_HOME=/path/to/JDK6/Home

The problem however is still there. I wonder if it might be because your idea set the path to java, but javac is being used to compile. Is there some sort of "export JAVAC_HOME=/path...."?
Nope. JAVA_HOME refers to the home folder of the JDK - where javac lives (and java, in the JDK's private JRE).

For me, the correct JAVA_HOME value is:
Code:
/System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compiling for Powerpc, how to? skinniezinho PowerPC Macs 12 Jun 21, 2013 04:10 AM
Moving from xcode 3.2 to xcode 4.5.2 compilation error for 'abs' macro in stdlib.h hrishidev Mac Programming 7 Jun 2, 2013 10:36 AM
compiling VTK on Mac Air ilantal OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Dec 18, 2012 07:04 AM
Cross compiling for windows using Xcode e-r-a-n Mac Programming 3 Dec 2, 2012 12:58 PM
C++ compiling issues Marcus89 Mac Programming 2 Sep 20, 2012 08:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC