Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dmille6

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 20, 2012
hi, i'm trying to find the best way to approach a backup problem. advice and opinions would be greatly appreciated. (i hope i can make this make sense)

i am a photographer, i have been for years.. i have ALOT of photos from a high MP camera. my photo library is pushing about 3 tb at this point. I have an iMac at the house with a drobo 5d attached for backup. it works fine. i've been using crashplan.com as a cloud storage based backup solution. it works great too.. but its begining to really struggle with 3tb of storage being backed up. indexing, and syncing this amount of files takes forever (over 24 hours). i also kinda feel bad i'm taking advantage of a 50.00 a year unlimtied backup service. So i'm looking at other options for offsite backup.

i do the all of my work from a macbook pro laptop. the imac at home is basically used as a backup server.

my workflow is:
i download the photos from my camera to my laptop. process them on laptop.. when i'm done editing, i transfer the finished/edited photos to my imac/drobo.

what i'd like to do is put a mac mini (used off ebay it doesnt need to be powerful) + large external drive in my office at work.

then set up a script using something like the "ControlPlane" to "see" when my laptop is in my office.. when i am at my office connect to this officebackup mac mini and copy my photos folder to the large external drive. The problem i see occuring is that it might take a few days wirelessly to copy my newly imported photos to the external drive... which is fine..