Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:16 AM   #1
bonskovsky
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Is there a way to change Macbook Air resolution to match retina display?

I know you can change the resolution from like 800 x 900 to a little bit higher, but is there a way to make the resolution even higher so that you get the same effect that you would get if you had a retina display?

I just bought a Macbook Air, i would've gotten the Macbook Pro, but I felt it was just too chunky. So it came to the decision of having to choose retina but chunky, or standard but thin. I chose thin.

Also: You wouldn't believe this, but I was sitting in the park one day with the Air in my lap and the wind can actually blow the Air right off of your lap, that's how thin it is.

Last edited by bonskovsky; Jan 2, 2013 at 09:55 AM.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:34 AM   #2
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
No, you do not have a Retina display.
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:00 AM   #3
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Ok, that's obvious, what I'm asking is there a way to switch to a higher resolution- higher than 1440 x 900?

The thing I noticed about the MacBook Air is that when you play HD videos, it tends not to look HD, I mean even the quality of videos on my Dell looked better, but my Dell actually had a lower resolution.

So maybe 1440 x 900 is too high for HD and I have to turn it down?

Or does it have something to do with the fact that it's an LED screen?
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:02 AM   #4
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
There are only so many physical pixels.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:07 AM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
Ok, that's obvious, what I'm asking is there a way to switch to a higher resolution- higher than 1440 x 900?

The thing I noticed about the MacBook Air is that when you play HD videos, it tends not to look HD, I mean even the quality of videos on my Dell looked better, but my Dell actually had a lower resolution.

So maybe 1440 x 900 is too high for HD and I have to turn it down?

Or does it have something to do with the fact that it's an LED screen?
HD is normally 1280 x 720 pixel or 1920 x 1080 pixel (minus the vertical pixels to get the proper aspect ratio).

Your 13" MBA has only 1440 x 900 physical pixel, you can not get more than that.
If you for instance screen share with a 1920 x 1200 17" MBP and can see all of its contents on your 13" MBA, that is not, that there are suddenly 1920 x 1200 and more pixel, the 1920x x 1200 pixel from the 17" MBP get scaled down, thus one 13" MBA pixel represents 1.77 pixels from the 17" MBP, probably even more due to the screen sharing window size.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:03 AM   #6
Dominus Mortem
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
Ok, that's obvious, what I'm asking is there a way to switch to a higher resolution- higher than 1440 x 900?

The thing I noticed about the MacBook Air is that when you play HD videos, it tends not to look HD, I mean even the quality of videos on my Dell looked better, but my Dell actually had a lower resolution.

So maybe 1440 x 900 is too high for HD and I have to turn it down?

Or does it have something to do with the fact that it's an LED screen?
You're talking about interpolation and sampling. The up-res would need to interpolate the current display, which means some data is "made up". Then it would have to sample it down to 1440x900 again, probably getting a worse result than if you just left it alone to begin with. The Air screen just isn't that great. The Air itself is fine, but hardly a match for 1080p movies. You probably should have got the retina. It's so close in size I can't believe anyone really notices the difference. I had a 13" Air and now have the 13" retina and I would never go back. It's actually a bit smaller than the Air in width and length.
Dominus Mortem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:26 AM   #7
rezwits
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Send a message via ICQ to rezwits Send a message via AIM to rezwits Send a message via MSN to rezwits Send a message via Yahoo to rezwits Send a message via Skype™ to rezwits
If you can find...

If you can find an App or PrefPane, that will extend your screen size to a "virtual" screen size, of say 2560 x 1440, then enable HiDPI, on your MacBook which is easy, with a terminal command. You will be able to have double resolution retina graphics on your MacBook Air 11"

You will end up only being able to see 1/4 of the screen at a time (1 corner). But you will have the machine in Retina mode. It will be zoomed up too/tho...

I am going to find an App that does this it's fun. I like the way retina graphics look with 4:1 pixels...

Laters...
rezwits is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:51 AM   #8
rezwits
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Send a message via ICQ to rezwits Send a message via AIM to rezwits Send a message via MSN to rezwits Send a message via Yahoo to rezwits Send a message via Skype™ to rezwits
newrez for linux

I found one program that does it. For linux you can use this called newrez

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/increas...-newrez-linux/

But it would be nice for Mac, I am going to look for another 10 then move on... cause you can't get retina mode while using Linux as far as I know, maybe there is something out there who knows. Would like to wrap this up.

Like I said before the App that used to do it on Mac was called SuperRes. But we're in the 10.8's now days :P

There are a couple of ways with windows, 360Desktop does it, but not with "smooth panning"

One thing that pisses me off, is when you use the Accessibility->Zoom feature in System Prefs, it doesn't kick in the hidden Retina Pixel/Data/Bits bummer

Well that's enough on this, I'll have to google myself to death on some other topic. Give it 3 months to 6 months maybe someone will write a hack or come up with a terminal line that changes the

viewport or view or whatever is the exact screen port you have to change to get what you are looking to do. I wouldn't mind doing it too

Laters...

Last edited by rezwits; Jan 15, 2013 at 02:05 AM.
rezwits is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:07 AM   #9
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Well my original thought was that I didn't want to pay they extra price for retina display, I thought, "well 1440x900 is high enough for me, but if I need to see something in retina, I have an iPhone for that."

You see, I'm a photo editor and a blogger. I liked using different tactics to make sure that all of my material is in retina display.

So when I'm making photos I've recently gotten into the habit of making them on the Air just like I normally would, and then viewing it from my phone to see just how good it is in retina display.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:57 AM   #10
xPurpleblob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post

You see, I'm a photo editor and a blogger. I liked using different tactics to make sure that all of my material is in retina display.
pfft
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:14 PM   #11
Ricanlegend
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bronx,Ny
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPurpleblob View Post
pfft
If hes a photo editor i must be a victoria secret model lol
Ricanlegend is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:15 AM   #12
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
So the scaling down of the MBP retina on a screen share to a MBA doesn't make the images look any better?

I mean that's what I thought I was seeing when I viewed retina display, all the images get smaller. Well the icons at least..
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:25 AM   #13
danistyping
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
So the scaling down of the MBP retina on a screen share to a MBA doesn't make the images look any better?

I mean that's what I thought I was seeing when I viewed retina display, all the images get smaller. Well the icons at least..

Go to settings->displays and click "scaled". Try the different resolution options. Those are the only options you have. Most will look terrible. If you want retina, you can choose any options that say HiDPI toward the bottom, but you won't get much screen real-estate.

That is the best you will do on an air.
danistyping is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:30 AM   #14
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
So the scaling down of the MBP retina on a screen share to a MBA doesn't make the images look any better?

I mean that's what I thought I was seeing when I viewed retina display, all the images get smaller. Well the icons at least..
The MacBook Pro with Retina Display has four times more pixels than your 13" MBA, and that on a 15" display.
All graphics, if optimised, are four times the resolution. What is one pixel on your MBA are four pixels on the MacBook Pro with Retina Display, but those four pixels are almost as dense as the one pixel.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:39 AM   #15
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
So basically, the display on the Air is as good as it gets and they'll never make a retina Air without making it beefy?

The thinness of the Air has become standard for me, but Retina screens need more power and cooling. Apple managed to make the retina MacBook thinner and lighter by making it more like an Air. The Air doesn’t have the room to spare.

Like the new iPad, retina screens mean more bulk.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:00 PM   #16
mufflon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
So basically, the display on the Air is as good as it gets and they'll never make a retina Air without making it beefy?

Basically, YOUR display is as good as it gets - there is engineering headache with handling the kind of throughput required for a screen with that kind of resolution - but it can obviously be done. Come some years from now it's probable that a retina Air exists - but until we'll just have to cope
mufflon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 01:33 PM   #17
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
But here's where you start to see a theme.

Apple doesn't seem to have a problem with sacrificing thin for a better display. It's why I choose the thin iPad 2 over a hot new iPad.

But if Apple ever did try to make a retina Air by adding weight to it I wouldn't buy it.

Like with the iPad mini, you can't have thin and retina.

Last edited by bonskovsky; Dec 31, 2012 at 01:49 PM.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:27 PM   #18
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
But here's where you start to see a theme.

Apple doesn't seem to have a problem with sacrificing thin for a better display. It's why I choose the thin iPad 2 over a hot new iPad.

But if Apple ever did try to make a retina Air by adding weight to it I wouldn't buy it.

Like with the iPad mini, you can't have thin and retina.
the iPad is not also powering as many pixels or a large screen, so the graphics processor isnt as powerful either as needed in a 15" and the 13" MBPr
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:30 PM   #19
robvas
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
But here's where you start to see a theme.

Apple doesn't seem to have a problem with sacrificing thin for a better display. It's why I choose the thin iPad 2 over a hot new iPad.
Almost a whole milimeter thicker!
robvas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:18 PM   #20
NT1440
macrumors G3
 
NT1440's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hartford, CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
Like with the iPad mini, you can't have thin and retina.
Uh, IGZO displays hit it big this year. Please don't just throw generalities out there when clearly you don't follow or understand the technology behind any of these products.
NT1440 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:47 PM   #21
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I was in the midst of a transition. And coming from a Dell Inspiron, the jump to Mac, any Mac would be a huge one.

My philosophy is that thin is in. If I had ever gotten a Pro, it would've been a 13 inch. But the thing about that is that it's 2560 x 1600 and not 2880 x 1800 like the 15.

Yes, it's still higher resolution, but it's not thin. The thinnest notebook is what fascinates me, because it looks futuristic. It's thin yet has so much power not to mention a long battery. And it's so effortless.

Knowing how big the Dell Inspiron was, I made it my mission to go for the thinnest.

If you could slap retina on the Air, you would have the perfect notebook.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 01:58 AM   #22
krravi
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
I was in the midst of a transition. And coming from a Dell Inspiron, the jump to Mac, any Mac would be a huge one.

My philosophy is that thin is in. If I had ever gotten a Pro, it would've been a 13 inch. But the thing about that is that it's 2560 x 1600 and not 2880 x 1800 like the 15.

Yes, it's still higher resolution, but it's not thin. The thinnest notebook is what fascinates me, because it looks futuristic. It's thin yet has so much power not to mention a long battery. And it's so effortless.

Knowing how big the Dell Inspiron was, I made it my mission to go for the thinnest.

If you could slap retina on the Air, you would have the perfect notebook.
Seriously. I have a Dell laptop from work and it weighs like 8 pounds or more I think. Never touch it.

The thin profile of the rMBP and the power packed inside fascinates me as well.
__________________
Lots of Apple,Sony and other gadgets.
krravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 02:40 AM   #23
pellets007
macrumors 6502a
 
pellets007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Point
Look into a program called QuickRes. No program will given you additional physical pixels, but this is a scaling feature. Essentially you can push 1920x1080 on the 11" Air. It sets it up the same way that mirroring to an Apple TV would. You'll get additional screen real estate at the cost of clarity. You can also enable HiDPI through the menu bar. Maybe this isn't what you're asking, but just throwing it out there.
pellets007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:53 AM   #24
bonskovsky
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pellets007 View Post
Look into a program called QuickRes. No program will given you additional physical pixels, but this is a scaling feature. Essentially you can push 1920x1080 on the 11" Air. It sets it up the same way that mirroring to an Apple TV would. You'll get additional screen real estate at the cost of clarity. You can also enable HiDPI through the menu bar. Maybe this isn't what you're asking, but just throwing it out there.
Yes!! This is what I was talking about. I know the MBA only has a set number of pixels, but I think there's a way to get the retina effect by going through the back end.

Just think, the 13 vs 15 MBP's have two different resolutions, yet they are both dubbed retina display.

Edit: Yeah, just tried it. So now instead of 1440 x 900, I'm on 1920 x 1080, not bad.

Last edited by bonskovsky; Jan 1, 2013 at 10:02 AM.
bonskovsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:03 AM   #25
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonskovsky View Post
I'll try that, this is kind of what I was talking about. I know the MBA only has a set number of pixels, but I think there's a way to get the retina effect by going through the back end.

Just think, the 13 vs 15 MBP's have two different resolutions, yet they are both dubbed retina display.
The word "Retina" is only marketing speak, it is not a term for a set resolution. Look at the iPhone 4, it has a Retina display, but a totally different resolution than the 15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display or 13" MacBook Pro with Retina Display or the Old iPad (3) with Retina Display.

I also think, you got it confused, just because you can display 1920 x 1200 pixel on a 1440 x 900 pixel display through some scaling, does not mean you get a "Retina effect".

Every "Retina" display Apple introduced on the iPhone, iPad and the 13" and 15" MBPs, had four times the resolution of the previous generation, but the screen real estate stayed the same.

I also think, this thread runs in circles.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change recording resolution of Macbook air camera drtanz Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 7, 2013 12:43 PM
MacBook Retina with Thunderbolt Display - Windows 7 Resolution problem haswell999343 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jun 17, 2013 05:37 PM
Confused with resolution of the Macbook Pro Retina Display beebs76 MacBook Pro 8 Sep 26, 2012 10:09 AM
Retina Macbook Pro external display scaled resolution mklnz MacBook Pro 9 Jul 30, 2012 03:49 PM
How do you change resolution on your Retina Macbook Pro revm1m MacBook Pro 3 Jul 8, 2012 07:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC