Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:11 PM   #1
VideoNewbie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Question Anyone Else? Internet on iPhone 5 SUPER SLOW. Is this AT&T or Apples Problem?

Whenever i am outside using the data plan on my iphone is super slow. ive tried power cycling and it sometimes helps but only for the first minute or so then it goes back to being slow. ive tried clearing out apps by double tapping the home button...theres no real solution.

I very rarely have more than 2 bars. Calls sometimes take a while to dial out..

some additional info:

-wifi of course works fine.

-i have an unlimited data from at&t and no i dont go over 3gb a month so im not getting limited

-using an otterbox case so i dont think its the case.


i talked to an at&t rep and asked if it has to do with sim card and she said not likely. she said that she noticed a similar problem on her own iphone and that she brought it in the apple store and they "unblocked" something that was affecting her antenna? wtf? have u all heard of something like this?

i am going to the apple store later this week as well as trying to swap out a sim from at&T in the meantime i want to see if any of u have experienced something similar
VideoNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:19 PM   #2
darkside flow
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
Almost certainly AT&T but it wouldn't hurt to get it checked at Apple.

I have no clue what the rep was talking about it regards to unblocking something. Sounds like BS.
darkside flow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:23 PM   #3
Apple fanboy
macrumors 68040
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Mine works just fine. I noticed how much quicker it was on 3G compared to my iPhone 4.
__________________
Late 2012 21" iMac 2.9GHz i5, ITB FD, 16G RAM, 2 TB TimeCapsule, iPhone 5 32GB, iPad Air 32G, iPad 4 32G, iPad 2 16G, ATV2, iPod touch 4th gen 8G, Xbox 360. Nikon D7100,18-55mm, 70-300mm VR lenses
Apple fanboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:53 PM   #4
VideoNewbie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple fanboy View Post
Mine works just fine. I noticed how much quicker it was on 3G compared to my iPhone 4.

where r u located? im in southern california .

are ur bars usually full ? r u mostly outdoors? i find reception at malls is virtually impossible for some reason

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkside flow View Post
Almost certainly AT&T

hm. so u figure it has to do with sim card or do u think they r secretly limiting people who have an unlimited data plan (even ppl who dont go over 3gb)
VideoNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 06:00 PM   #5
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego
Probably just your area. AT&T has been doing a lot of expanding in SoCal, especially in the Northern Los Angeles Area and San Diego. Could barely get 2 bars in those areas now I almost always have 4+.
__________________
iMac 21.5", 2.7 i5 Quad, 8GB, 1TB; 11" MBA 1.7 i5, 4GB, 64GB; Black 64GB 3G iPad 2; Space Grey 32GB iPhone 5S; Red 8GB iPod Nano 5G, and ATV 3
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 06:02 PM   #6
Apple fanboy
macrumors 68040
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
where r u located? im in southern california .

are ur bars usually full ? r u mostly outdoors? i find reception at malls is virtually impossible for some reason

----------




hm. so u figure it has to do with sim card or do u think they r secretly limiting people who have an unlimited data plan (even ppl who dont go over 3gb)
I'm in the UK. With O2. Usually full bars when I'm on 3G unless I'm out in the sticks (countryside).
__________________
Late 2012 21" iMac 2.9GHz i5, ITB FD, 16G RAM, 2 TB TimeCapsule, iPhone 5 32GB, iPad Air 32G, iPad 4 32G, iPad 2 16G, ATV2, iPod touch 4th gen 8G, Xbox 360. Nikon D7100,18-55mm, 70-300mm VR lenses
Apple fanboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:42 PM   #7
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
No issues here... sounds like a carrier issue in your area to me.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 08:53 AM   #8
scaredpoet
macrumors 601
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
where r u located? im in southern california .
There's your problem. SoCal has been AT&T's Waterloo ever since they sold off a huge chunk of spectrum there to t mobile. Coverage there has been bad for AT&T for years.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC