Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:45 AM   #1
0penCr8
macrumors newbie

Shopping Cart

Hey
I'm new to web design and I am looking to create a payment gateway for my website. I know there are several shopping cart solutions out there (GoDaddy, ZenCart, PayPal...) but I want to build one myself. I mean, I'm pretty sure Amazon isn't using GoDaddy Quick Shopping cart to process their payments. I'm not looking fir anything close to that kind of complexity, but I was hoping someone with more knowledge than me could point me in the right direction.
Thanks!
0penCr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:53 AM   #2
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000

While I can't help with the actual set up of one (I use third party add ons to accomplish this), I will suggest you use Authorize.net, or something similar, to securely accept payments. I've heard a story of a site that used a "back door" method of simply sending the customer's payment information as plain text into a text document to be read later. A thief found the document and stole all the credit card numbers.
ideal.dreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 04:54 PM   #3
0penCr8
macrumors newbie

Add Ons

Quote:
Originally Posted by ideal.dreams View Post
While I can't help with the actual set up of one (I use third party add ons to accomplish this)
Would you mind telling me what add-ons you use?
0penCr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:26 PM   #4
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0penCr8 View Post
Would you mind telling me what add-ons you use?