Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:22 PM   #1
Vitiri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Adobe Premiere CS6 on GeForce GTX 680MX(2GB) iMac 2012

Hi all,

I just recently got my new iMac 2012 (First Mac ever) and it runs flawless so far. However, i cannot get Adobe Premier CS6 to Playback clips or anything in it.

I installed CUDA and listed my GeForce GTX 680MX in the supporting Graphic Cards, but still no luck.

Does anyone know how to fix this? or do i have o wait until there's an update from adobe?


Any help would be greatly appreciated.


My system info:
27-inch iMac
3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-2X4GB
1TB Fusion Drive
NVIDIAGeFrc GTX 680MX 2G GDDR5


Thanks
Vitiri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 02:59 AM   #2
MrPlayer66
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
did you do the hack to add your graphic card?
MrPlayer66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 10:22 AM   #3
Vitiri
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPlayer66 View Post
did you do the hack to add your graphic card?
Yes, i did the hack before i posted this topic. It wasn't working at all, later last night i shut down my mac to clean it and than restarted and when i opened premiere it works. It's not 100%, but it works for now.

Thanks for your reply
Vitiri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:02 AM   #4
waldo3125
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitiri View Post
Yes, i did the hack before i posted this topic. It wasn't working at all, later last night i shut down my mac to clean it and than restarted and when i opened premiere it works. It's not 100%, but it works for now.

Thanks for your reply
Please excuse me, I'm a noob. But I just purchased the same device (haven't received it yet) but I will also be running Premiere CS6 on it and would like to know what the "hack" is and how to do it?

Thank you
waldo3125 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:18 PM   #5
Vitiri
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldo3125 View Post
Please excuse me, I'm a noob. But I just purchased the same device (haven't received it yet) but I will also be running Premiere CS6 on it and would like to know what the "hack" is and how to do it?

Thank you
These are the instructions i've used. I had to restart for everything to work. It's not flawless, but works for now.

Install Cuda for Mac OSX

1) Download and Install Cuda Drive for Mac: Around 20 MB
http://www.nvidia.com/object/mac-driver-archive.html


GeForce GTX 680MX


Premiere Pro CS6

1) Need to run GPUSniffer. Open Terminal Window and copy and paste this command:

/Applications/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6.app/Contents/GPUSniffer.app/Contents/MacOS/GPUSniffer



2) Open Terminal Window and copy and paste this command:

sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6.app/Contents/cuda_supported_cards.txt



After Effects CS6

1) Need to run GPUSniffer. Open Terminal Window and copy and paste this command:

/Applications/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CS6/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CS6.app/Contents/GPUSniffer.app/Contents/MacOS/GPUSniffer


2) Open Terminal Window and copy and paste this command:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CS6/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CS6.app/Contents/raytracer_supported_cards.txt
Vitiri is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:18 PM   #6
waldo3125
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thank you VERY much Vitiri, I greatly appreciate it! I'll definitely give this a try!
waldo3125 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:11 AM   #7
Endfallow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Thornton, CO.
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitiri View Post
My system info:
27-inch iMac
3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-2X4GB
1TB Fusion Drive
NVIDIAGeFrc GTX 680MX 2G GDDR5
Vitiri,
I ordered the exact same system (then up'ed to 32g RAM), have not installed any sort of hack, and my CS6 PPro (Cloud) is running like a champ - right out of the box.

To all,
Am I to understand that this is not the norm? Granted, I have yet to edit a full project, but I have had no issues while running individual clips though the different apps and would like to know if I should expect some. Is this not a stable setup as of yet?

Would love some feedback. Thx.
Endfallow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:04 AM   #8
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The hack will work just fine in theory since all it is, is adding GeForce GTX 680MX to the text list instead of modifying anything else. If Adobe does update Premiere and AE you might need to redo it but by then they will probably add the 680mx to the list anyway.

Edit: if you do run into CUDA issues, just go get the latest n greatest nvidia cuda driver for mac and chances are problem solved. Seems they release one twice a month
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 02:37 AM   #9
Aries86
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Awesome! Thanks for that! I realy like it . i appericate this thread.
Aries86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 10:06 AM   #10
MIDI_EVIL
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Endfallow View Post
Vitiri,
I ordered the exact same system (then up'ed to 32g RAM), have not installed any sort of hack, and my CS6 PPro (Cloud) is running like a champ - right out of the box.

To all,
Am I to understand that this is not the norm? Granted, I have yet to edit a full project, but I have had no issues while running individual clips though the different apps and would like to know if I should expect some. Is this not a stable setup as of yet?

Would love some feedback. Thx.
It's not about stability, it's about unlocking CUDA and Mercury Playback using the GPU, which is not supported on all cards as of yet. If your card is not supported, then you can add it by 'hacking' the supported list of cards. Very simple.

Premiere will run like a dream without this hack, but you can potentially unlock the full potential of your, as of yet, unsupported GPU for any effects rendering.
__________________
Too many cameras!
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 07:49 AM   #11
jasonvp
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via AIM to jasonvp
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIDI_EVIL View Post
If your card is not supported, then you can add it by 'hacking' the supported list of cards. Very simple.
Someone pointed out in another thread that it's even easier to just remove the file. In fact, with CS6, you can remove both cuda and opencl text files. Restarting Premiere Pro will show you two choices for hardware MPE acceleration: one for CUDA, and the other OpenCL.

As I stated earlier: CS6 patches will likely reset those files back to their original state. So after you've updated/patched/etc, you'll need to go back and re-edit or remove them.

Easy as can be.

jas
jasonvp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 10:46 AM   #12
HoosPhotog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
This isn't exactly on the topic of CUDA hacks, but since this thread is all about Adobe on the 2012 iMac, I'm curious to hear some general impressions of people's experience and setup. I am planning to buy the 27" 3.4 i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion, 680MX (this config is in the refurb store for $2199!) then upgrade to 24 or 32GB RAM.

Specific questions:
-What's Premiere performance like without the CUDA hack? Big difference with it? Any beachballing when cutting 1080p DSLR footage?
-How about After Effects? Smooth playback, quick renders?
-What is your disk setup like- externals, RAIDs, etc? Where are you storing project files, footage, final exports, etc? (I am considering the OWC Helios+E2 Thunderbolt- working footage on the SSD, archive on eSATA connected RAID, project files on Fusion).
-How is the display for color grading? Would you recommend another (ie, non-Apple) external display for this instead?

Really appreciate the feedback- I'm just seriously jumping into the video world from a still photography background and there's certainly a bit of a learning curve. Thanks!
__________________
2010 MBP 15", 2.66 i7, 8GB, 120GB SSD + 1TB
16GB iPhone 5, iPad 3 32GB 4G
HoosPhotog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 01:53 PM   #13
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoosPhotog View Post
-What's Premiere performance like without the CUDA hack? Big difference with it? Any beachballing when cutting 1080p DSLR footage?
Without CUDA it will be perfectly fine. I used to edit full HD on a 2010 iMac with i3, 4GB RAM, Radeon HD 4670 w/256GB VRAM; you honestly do not need a supercomputer to edit HD video, people overestimate the computers needed to edit video, even that iMac was more than enough to edit HD video. I did upgrade to 8GB RAM though.

I once had a go at editing HD video on an 11" MacBook Air and it worked quite well, obviously not ideal, but just shows that there's no need to shell out so much money on something to edit videos on.

Lastly, CS6 has OpenCL, which I've found to work pretty well, so there's that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoosPhotog View Post
-How about After Effects? Smooth playback, quick renders?
Same story with my 2010 iMac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoosPhotog View Post
-What is your disk setup like- externals, RAIDs, etc? Where are you storing project files, footage, final exports, etc? (I am considering the OWC Helios+E2 Thunderbolt- working footage on the SSD, archive on eSATA connected RAID, project files on Fusion).
For 2 years I was using a 1TB G-Drive hooked up to my iMac via FireWire 800 (Firstly using it on my 2012 iMac, then using it on my current 2012 iMac), and it was pretty much flawless. Soon, I decided to get a LaCie Little Big Disk 240GB SSD RAID, it was extremely fast, but I discovered that the speed of the drive wasn't making my renders/exports any faster whatsoever, and the fan was so loud, it wasn't worth it, so I ditched that drive, I even made a post regarding it.

Last weekend I decided to buy a G-RAID 4TB, to be hooked up via FireWire 800. Unlike the LaCie, this RAID isn't any faster than the regular G-Drive, which is disappointing; the G-Drive is a single disk. I cooked up a conspiracy that G-Tech decided to throttle the newer FW800 RAIDs to make either the USB3 port (That this drive has) look better or to make the Thunderbolt versions look better. Anyway, I'm gonna keep this drive since it's 4TB and I can't be bothered to look for something else.

Personally, if you want more help on a disk set up, make a post about it or search the forums, not quite in the mood right now to talk about storage solutions in depth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoosPhotog View Post
-How is the display for color grading? Would you recommend another (ie, non-Apple) external display for this instead?
I don't do any serious colour grading, so I don't really have any say in this.

Edit: Anyone wondering what happened to the 2010 iMac, never did manage to find out the actual problem, but it pretty much broke so I decided to go up a step and wait for the next iMac...which was a very long wait.
__________________
focus

Last edited by Siderz; May 22, 2013 at 02:12 PM.
Siderz is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Cut Pro X crashes on 2012 imac with GTX 680MX card Red Fuji Digital Video 0 May 14, 2013 01:11 PM
Windows: iMac 27" 2012 with i7 + gtx 680mx gaming performance ? dracula51 Mac and PC Games 3 Jan 1, 2013 09:03 AM
New 27" iMac Core i7 vs. GTX 680MX 2Gb upgrade obsoletepower iMac 7 Nov 28, 2012 04:13 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX in the new iMAC2012 flashfang iMac 4 Nov 19, 2012 01:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC