Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:57 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
CES 2013: LaCie Introduces New 20TB Thunderbolt and NAS Products




LaCie introduced a pair of high-capacity storage devices at CES today.

The first, the LaCie 5big is a 10 or 20TB external RAID box connected via Thunderbolt. The box includes five drives with multiple RAID options for backup and speed, as well as a pair of Thunderbolt ports for daisy chaining. The box is $2,199 in 20TB configuration, and $1,199 for the 10TB version.

LaCie also introduced the 5big NAS Pro, a gigabit ethernet equipped network storage box available in multiple capacities: 0TB (diskless) for $529, 10TB for $1,199, and 20TB for $2,199.
Quote:
Today LaCie announced the 5big NAS Pro, its latest high-performance 5-bay network-attached storage solution powered by Intel®. Thanks to hybrid cloud technology, the LaCie 5big NAS Pro lets employees collaborate easily using a single interface for both network/cloud storage and remote access. Plus, data stays secure thanks to novice-friendly SimplyRAID and client-side cloud encryption.

With transfer speeds up to 200MB/s*, the LaCie 5big NAS Pro boosts business productivity. Powered by a dual-core 2.13GHz Intel 64-bit Atom(TM) processor and 4GB RAM, it also features dual LAN and link aggregation for optimized network speeds. This performance-driven combination accelerates file sharing, remote access, and backups for small businesses.
The 5big Thunderbolt drive is available for order from LaCie today, while LaCie is taking sign ups to be notified when the 5big NAS Pro is available.

Article Link: CES 2013: LaCie Introduces New 20TB Thunderbolt and NAS Products
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:00 PM   #2
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
For those of you who wre around longer than I am, was FireWire as expensive at launch?
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:08 PM   #3
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
NO. Though, to be fair, it didn't have as much dynamic peripherals as the TB.

FireWire wasn't cheap, but it wasn't exorbitant.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:10 PM   #4
NakedSnake
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
"I'm afraid I can't let you save that, Dave."
NakedSnake is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:15 PM   #5
unplugme71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Kinda upset to see it doesn't offer mSATA to provide a 32, 64, or 128GB cache drive like the Drobo's have.

It makes a BIG difference in speed.
__________________
Mac Mini, 32GB iPhone 5S (AT&T), 64GB iPad Mini (AT&T)
unplugme71 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:36 PM   #6
g4cube
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by unplugme71 View Post
Kinda upset to see it doesn't offer mSATA to provide a 32, 64, or 128GB cache drive like the Drobo's have.

It makes a BIG difference in speed.
The LaCie 5big Thunderbolt is already faster than the Drobo Thunderbolt, so wouldn't benefit from any mSATA cache at more than 700MB/sec. Drobo is much slower even with the mSATA cache.
g4cube is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:18 PM   #7
Mactekk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne
Still waiting on the longer thunderbolt cables to come out so we can hide these things away....
Mactekk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:18 PM   #8
FrizzleFryBen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
DOA for me with only RAID 0 and 1.
FrizzleFryBen is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:23 PM   #9
unplugme71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrizzleFryBen View Post
DOA for me with only RAID 0 and 1.
supports 5 and 5+spare.

Wish it had RAID 6 too. Although not sure if performance is better with RAID 5 + Spare or RAID 6.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exotic-Car Man View Post
I don't understand the 0TB. What's the point of a diskless storage device for over $500?
So you can provide your own set of disks if you already have a set.

Or not over pay for the same drives you can get at another retailer
__________________
Mac Mini, 32GB iPhone 5S (AT&T), 64GB iPad Mini (AT&T)
unplugme71 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:02 PM   #10
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedSnake View Post
"I'm afraid I can't let you save that, Dave."
respect for that comment. my thoughts exactly.
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:15 PM   #11
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesser Evets View Post
NO. Though, to be fair, it didn't have as much dynamic peripherals as the TB.

FireWire wasn't cheap, but it wasn't exorbitant.
Agreed! Although, these aren't nearly as bad as the Pegasus enclosures from Promise. Although, the price may be justified with LaCie's track record in QC.

I am no HDD basher, but I've had my fair share of LaCie power supplies conk out on me.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:20 PM   #12
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Boy do I wish I had $1200 just laying around!
KylePowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:27 PM   #13
unplugme71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Skunk View Post
Agreed! Although, these aren't nearly as bad as the Pegasus enclosures from Promise. Although, the price may be justified with LaCie's track record in QC.

I am no HDD basher, but I've had my fair share of LaCie power supplies conk out on me.
I've had 3 bad experiences with Lacie and their warranty service finds every excuse not to cover it.

1 was power supply, 1 was failed drive, 1 was connection issues.

The failed drive I replaced myself. The one with the bad power supply brick I ended up taking the one with connection issues and trashed the drive enclosure.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepowerofnone View Post
Can someone please explain to me why you would choose the NAS over a Thunderbolt model given the identical price and assuming you had a Thunderbolt equipped Mac which could host the Thunderbolt model as a shared disk over a network?

Given the difference in transfer speeds I can't really work it out - there would be no point putting SSDS in the NAS at those speeds (to be fair there would be little point buying a 5 bay enclosure to kit out with SSDs regardless of connection type given current GB/$ prices for SSDs and HDDs unless you needed über-speed on your remote storage).
Those speeds are based off of mechanical drives, not SSDs.

NAS allows the device to be a standalone vs having a Mac/PC on to share files over the network.

This device would be 100x better having an mSATA port on the bottom for a cache drive.

Better?
__________________
Mac Mini, 32GB iPhone 5S (AT&T), 64GB iPad Mini (AT&T)
unplugme71 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:29 PM   #14
unplugme71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Looking between this new one and version 2, the new one lacks iSCSI, RAID 6, and a few other important things for business use.

Kinda shocked they dropped that support. Although they did add USB 3.0 and dual link aggregation
__________________
Mac Mini, 32GB iPhone 5S (AT&T), 64GB iPad Mini (AT&T)
unplugme71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:33 PM   #15
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exotic-Car Man View Post
I don't understand the 0TB. What's the point of a diskless storage device for over $500?
Quote:
Originally Posted by unplugme71 View Post
So you can provide your own set of disks if you already have a set. Or not over pay for the same drives you can get at another retailer
Add to that some HDD manufacturers/retailers have better warranties and coverage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unplugme71 View Post
I've had 3 bad experiences with Lacie and their warranty service finds every excuse not to cover it.

1 was power supply, 1 was failed drive, 1 was connection issues.
I had four bad power supplies from LaCie and justs about all of them went up within the same year . . . . right when the warranty was up.

I haven't had a single issue with the mobile drives LaCie makes. I've two rugged drives pushing 6 years that haven't given me one single problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KieranDotW View Post
I was wondering who needed that much storage...
I have a short documentary (45 minutes) a colleague and I are working on, and the raw footage alone is pushing 3TBs. I haven't marketed myself to do any freelance post in almost 4 years, but even then, with the small projects I ate 7TBs easy. I am talking 30 second spots eating up 100GBs in raw footage alone.

Imagine an indie feature.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:21 AM   #16
auero
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Skunk View Post
Agreed! Although, these aren't nearly as bad as the Pegasus enclosures from Promise. Although, the price may be justified with LaCie's track record in QC.

I am no HDD basher, but I've had my fair share of LaCie power supplies conk out on me.
+1

Their power supplies are terrible. I think that's the reason one of my drives slowly started to die. It used to click because it wasn't getting enough power from a faulty supply. New power supply fixed it and now even with a good one it clicks. Quality product in terms of build but I'd never buy another drive from them again. I've received 3 power supply replacements from them in a matter of 2 years.
auero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:31 AM   #17
ben-adam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Israel
If only OS X had a decent file system

Finally... a JBOD enclosure with Thunderbolt :-)

The one thing that is missing is a decent file system. It's almost ridiculous to put a 20 years old file system (HFS) on this brand-new storage device.

I wish Apple brought back the ZFS.
ben-adam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 11:51 AM   #18
LorenK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Skunk View Post
I am no HDD basher, but I've had my fair share of LaCie power supplies conk out on me.
Not nice to see that someone else has had the same problem with LaCie power supplies. I also have had a problem with the bridge boards.

Anybody know what I can do with three LaCie aluminium drive cases? Would they make good birdhouses?
LorenK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 01:51 PM   #19
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
I think for most home users a NAS might be overkill. To me the craze of putting USB2 ports on routers is the way to go for most home users. It would be a heck of a lot cheaper than a NAS any day. IMHO as new wireless standards and that port on routers might change to USB3 or better real soon.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2013, 09:17 AM   #20
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Quote:
Originally Posted by LorenK View Post
Not nice to see that someone else has had the same problem with LaCie power supplies. I also have had a problem with the bridge boards.

Anybody know what I can do with three LaCie aluminium drive cases? Would they make good birdhouses?
Funny you should say that. I had to pull the perfectly working drives out and the cases sat for months. I contemplated getting more PSUs for them, but in the end, they wound up in the recycling bin.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:41 PM   #21
g4cube
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesser Evets View Post
NO. Though, to be fair, it didn't have as much dynamic peripherals as the TB.

FireWire wasn't cheap, but it wasn't exorbitant.
actually when FireWire was introduced, pci cards just to add the interface cost $99, and drives were much smaller capacity, typically less than 120GB.

Checkout older magazine ads, or archive.org for what some ancient websites presented to browsers.
g4cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:27 AM   #22
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4cube View Post
actually when FireWire was introduced, pci cards just to add the interface cost $99, and drives were much smaller capacity, typically less than 120GB.

Checkout older magazine ads, or archive.org for what some ancient websites presented to browsers.
Not sure about the pci-card interfaces: I was using new Macs of that age that came equipped with FW. Any PCI card isn't cheap. At the time, the FW cables were $20 and went down. They became so ubiquitous with FW peripherals that I have a plethora of FW cords all around the house. Never need to buy another FW cord in my life.

TB is definitely pricier than FW by a factor of 2 or 3 or 4.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:27 PM   #23
centauratlas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Florida
The first 5 MB and 10 MB (Trustor) hard disks for the Apple ][ and ][+ were quite pricey then too. I think they were around the same price back in the 1982-1984 time frame.

edit: And that really is MB, not GB or TB. Talk about a huge change over the last 30 years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
For those of you who wre around longer than I am, was FireWire as expensive at launch?
centauratlas is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 03:30 PM   #24
OriginalMacRat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
For those of you who wre around longer than I am, was FireWire as expensive at launch?
I was at an educational conference where an Apple engineer was demonstrating a FireWire board with a $300 camera.

I mentioned how sick I was of dealing with SCSI cables and terminators and would love to have firewire drives. He laughed and explained that FireWire was designed for video.
OriginalMacRat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:05 AM   #25
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
For those of you who wre around longer than I am, was FireWire as expensive at launch?
Yep...I have a Pegasus R4 and they still cost £800+ I guess GB for GB it's about right though...You do get what you pay for with Promise, although I can't comment on Lacie stuff.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC