Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:07 AM   #1
New2012MacForMe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Just About ready To Chuck FCPX

Ok, I think I've officially had it with this program. One problem after another. $3K for a new computer and another $300 for FCPX and I still wish I was editing on my 6 year old HP with Pinnacle Ultimate Studio.....

Latest problem is that FCPX freezes and computer needs a hard re-boot everytime I try to use titles in the application. Anyone know how to solve this? It happens either with optimized or proxy files. There is no background tasks going on. I simply move the title over to the timeline, double-click on it and it freezes. Next time I opened FCPX, I had a few seconds before it froze again. On the third try, I got smart and used those few seconds to delete the title - this time no freezing.

This issue makes this program unuasable to me and I might have to ditch it soon for something else if I can't find a solution.

Running on a late 2012 model iMac, i7, 16gb, 1tb fusion, 2gb video - editing on the fusion drive within the admin account.

Thanks
New2012MacForMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:10 AM   #2
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Give Apple feedback so they can fix it.
MacBoobsPro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 09:57 AM   #3
DelisleBA.info
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Athens, OH
Go raise hell.

Your cpu is still under warranty, right? No way this should be happening. Call Apple or visit them.
DelisleBA.info is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:25 AM   #4
New2012MacForMe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
The problem seems to be happening to a number of people. I'll report it to Apple, but that won't solve my immediate problem. Not sure what the CPU has to do with it. The computer is fine, it's just the program that I am having problems with.

Is there anyone else out there that has had this issue. If so, how'd you fix it?
New2012MacForMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 12:51 PM   #5
isethx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
i actually have this exact same issue. no fix. i have to hard reboot.
__________________
17" MBP Unibody 2.93GHz, 4 GB RAM 320GB 7200RPM HD
unboxing video - 17" MBP unibody http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNCihPgfkno
isethx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:42 PM   #6
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
What kind of files?
When you work with Proxies are you at ProRes Lite or?
I work with R3D converted to ProRes4444 at 4K resolution running on numerous MBP from retina to as old as 2009 Uni 17".
Ive been through the beta days (earlier than 10.0.4) solid and nothing that bad occurs.
I guess we will need more info as to what exactly is going on.

Cause I can say the same about my Avid MC and Premiere Pro at work as far as crashing constantly goes
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:38 AM   #7
daybreak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Having read this post and been following its progress it seems to me one thing lead to another problem.
What i can gather "Pixie Dust Title" which i never hear off seems to be the culprit? Is this an After effect template?.
When i started with FCP-X i did have a few crashes with titles. I put that down to Apple's new software. Later on a more advanced update i performed the same task and they worked fine.
I maintain when working in FCP-X and a task makes you work crash leave it for a couple of days and try again.
Not much help but i always say Why did it do that". Make a note and search all forms of internet on the subject.
FCP-X is not the best application in the world but very powerful and time saving.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:08 AM   #8
hltjr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: close to la, ca.
Crazy

FCX started going screwy on me after I purchased and started using a new external FW800 hard drive as of 01/01/13. Then it started requiring a reboot while working on events/projects that are on my internal hard drive. I blamed it on my older MBP, but it seems like it's happening with even newer machines. I'll continue to send the report(s) to Apple and hopefully all will be well soon. Thanks for sharing people.
__________________
15" unibody mbp (late 2008), 2.8 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB Momentus HD, 30GB iPod Classic, 4GB iPod Nano, 16GB Original iPad WiFi. 32GB iPhone 5, Nikon D70s, Nikon D800, Canon G11, GoPro 3 Black Edition
hltjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:46 PM   #9
StevethePirate
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
The problem is you're using FCPX.
StevethePirate is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:47 PM   #10
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by isethx View Post
i actually have this exact same issue. no fix. i have to hard reboot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2012MacForMe View Post
Ok, I think I've officially had it with this program. One problem after another. $3K for a new computer and another $300 for FCPX and I still wish I was editing on my 6 year old HP with Pinnacle Ultimate Studio.....

Latest problem is that FCPX freezes and computer needs a hard re-boot everytime I try to use titles in the application. Anyone know how to solve this? It happens either with optimized or proxy files. There is no background tasks going on. I simply move the title over to the timeline, double-click on it and it freezes. Next time I opened FCPX, I had a few seconds before it froze again. On the third try, I got smart and used those few seconds to delete the title - this time no freezing.

This issue makes this program unuasable to me and I might have to ditch it soon for something else if I can't find a solution.

Running on a late 2012 model iMac, i7, 16gb, 1tb fusion, 2gb video - editing on the fusion drive within the admin account.

Thanks
Have you tried calling Apple?
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:22 PM   #11
blackmoses
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2012MacForMe View Post
Ok, I think I've officially had it with this program. One problem after another. $3K for a new computer and another $300 for FCPX and I still wish I was editing on my 6 year old HP with Pinnacle Ultimate Studio.....

Latest problem is that FCPX freezes and computer needs a hard re-boot everytime I try to use titles in the application. Anyone know how to solve this? It happens either with optimized or proxy files. There is no background tasks going on. I simply move the title over to the timeline, double-click on it and it freezes. Next time I opened FCPX, I had a few seconds before it froze again. On the third try, I got smart and used those few seconds to delete the title - this time no freezing.

This issue makes this program unuasable to me and I might have to ditch it soon for something else if I can't find a solution.

Running on a late 2012 model iMac, i7, 16gb, 1tb fusion, 2gb video - editing on the fusion drive within the admin account.

Thanks
Does this happen with any font? I would suggest running verification in Font Book and seeing if you have any bad fonts.

Also, am I correct in assuming you're running FCPX 10.0.7 (latest version)?
blackmoses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:23 PM   #12
New2012MacForMe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks for all the replies and comments.

Blackmoses, it's not the font, it's the Pixie Dust title that came with FCPX. For the few seconds I have before it freezes up, I don't even have enough time to get into the title to change the font. The same font however works fine on other titles. And yes, running the latest version with all updates.

Feeling much better about the program lately. Just staying away from that title. The real test will come over the next week or so as I edit a bunch of home videos that need cleaning up. We'll see if I discover anything else.

Thanks again.
New2012MacForMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 08:25 AM   #13
mrcliffsr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Fcpx

Just want to say I'm having the same problem with my new iMac 27 and FCPX. Also have the same issue with Motion 5. Just doing a simple title zoom, the thing stutters, the play back speed falls to about 5 or 10 fps. then it freezes.
Can't move the cursor. Have to do a restart.

My old PPC G5 running FCP 5 has been fine and I'm afraid to put this new one in my work flow.
mrcliffsr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:05 AM   #14
coldsweat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I'm having system freeze issues too!

Seems to be related to Final Cut Pro X & 2012 iMacs with a 680mx graphics card and is being discussed on the apple fcpx forums

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

Hopefully there'll be a fix soon!
coldsweat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 11:35 AM   #15
SurfCity1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Just a note of solidarity. My brand new 27" iMac is doing the exact same thing. Not only with the Pixydust title, but all of them...randomly. It makes FCPX almost unusable. Complete hard locks the entire system. Crash report doesn't show anything, and the only way to get going again is a hard reboot.

Heading to an Apple in the next few days.
SurfCity1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 01:21 PM   #16
4God
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Ah, should've known...graphics card issue.
4God is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:37 AM   #17
harddriveowner
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
The freeze happens to me far too frequently. I not only reboot but turn off my 2 external Firewire 800 hard drives that I keep the video files in. When I clean out the 'system' completely, FCPX works fine.
I am still using a 2009 Mac Pro with 16 gigs of ram and Lion.
I do not blame OSX. It is FCPX.
As for the people who say just get rid of FCPX, I will say that when it is not freezing, it is faster than lightning compared to FCP 7. Is it possible that the problem might be the firewire connection with the external drives.
The question I have is would the freeze happen if the external drives were thunderbolt drives. Does anyone have a thunderbolt set up yet?
I am still waiting for the new Mac Pro but someone must be using a new iMac or laptop with a thunderbolt extenral harddrive.
harddriveowner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:12 AM   #18
New2012MacForMe
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Haven't tried it with thunderbolt only. Originally I was using it with no external drives. More recently I picked up a 1tb WD usb 3.0. With or without the external drive I get the same issue with that one title. Now that I am steering away from that one title, everything works great and it really does fly.
New2012MacForMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:06 PM   #19
mantic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: AL
Looks like i'll be sticking with FCP 7
mantic is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:21 PM   #20
steve123
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Render problems

Like you, I was having a very frustrating experience recently that was resulting in fcpx crashes and system instability. It culminated in a repeating fcpx crash at start up and I could not do anything before the crash. I inspected the crash log and i think I recall I saw it was connected to a thumbnail. So I deleted the thumbnails and lo and behold, fcpx started up again. I surmise there is something that can go wrong when rendering thumbnails that can corrupt them.

So it may be helpful to keep in mind that another weapon in your arsenal is to delete the render files and/or thumbnails if your are experiencing frequent crashes.

Regarding Pixie Dust, boy am I glad I did not use it! I was looking at it just yesterday but decided to make my own effect in Motion. The result is much better and there are many more options and styles.

FYI, Alex4D has a sparks template you might want to look at too.
steve123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:13 PM   #21
jaduffy108
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2012MacForMe View Post
Haven't tried it with thunderbolt only. Originally I was using it with no external drives. More recently I picked up a 1tb WD usb 3.0. With or without the external drive I get the same issue with that one title. Now that I am steering away from that one title, everything works great and it really does fly.
Dude, stop the madness and get CS6. All this pain and suffering, which will continue btw, over $300.??? (or get Avid MC6 on an edu discount). And...if you desire to work in multi-user, broadcast post environments as an editor...all the more reason to get off of FCPX. I prefer Avid due to its media management, but Premiere CS6 is a very good NLE.
jaduffy108 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:12 PM   #22
tbrinkma
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaduffy108 View Post
Dude, stop the madness and get CS6. All this pain and suffering, which will continue btw, over $300.??? (or get Avid MC6 on an edu discount). And...if you desire to work in multi-user, broadcast post environments as an editor...all the more reason to get off of FCPX. I prefer Avid due to its media management, but Premiere CS6 is a very good NLE.
Yep, sure. Because the solution to an identified issue with a $300 software package, which can apparently be completely avoided by not using one particular title, is to go out and buy a $1,899 software package (CS6) instead.
__________________
17" MBP (unibody), 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD; iPhone 4s 64GB/Black
tbrinkma is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:58 PM   #23
rseredyn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
FCPX freeze

Hi everybody

I use iMac 21.5'' 2,5 GHz I5, 8GB RAM, with FCPX 10.0.7
Mainly I use Mac to middle long projects (10-50 min movies, 1920x1080p, 25fps, ProRes codec).

After half year of using FCPX I have impression that the big problem is RAM management system. I bought "Memory clean" in AppStore. I revealed, that when I use FCPX (intensive changes in clips, changes of effect / generators etc) the structure of RAM changes: increase the inactive part of memory, even when I leave the projects.
I clean up the memory very often and I think, the freeze effects are rare.

Rafal

P.S. I don't have shares in Memory Clean's produrer and it isn't advertorial.
rseredyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:02 AM   #24
sudhir22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
you can solve to get apple feedback.
sudhir22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 07:06 PM   #25
nzreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
As a matter of interest, after reading this topic I fired up FCP 10.0.6 running on a mac mini 16gig ram 2.3 ghz core i7, intel hd graphics 4000 768mb with osx 10.8.2.
Loaded pixie Dust onto a clip in the storyline and rendered lightning fast with no issues.
Hope this can be of help to someone
nzreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC