Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ccy-mba

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2013
Hi,

I have a 2012 MBA, OS X 10.8.2, i5. I am having problems with my wifi. When I am at home, my MBA automatically connects to my school's wifi network because I live just a couple blocks away. In order to connect to my Motorola wifi at home, I would have to manually open Network, and it would take me several tries for it to successfully connect to Motorola. I have even prioritized the network preferences so that Motorola would be at the top of the list and my school's network at the very bottom. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

PS I went to the Genius Bar with this problem. The guy there suggested me to change the setting of my Motorola wifi from WPA2 to WEP, but Motorola doesn't give me that option.

Nimravus

macrumors member
Jan 1, 2013
Hmm, that's strange. That's what the Preferred Network setting is for, so you can put in order which one to connect first. Maybe it's seeing the school WiFi before it sees the Motorola? Have you gone into the Admin settings of the Motorola and disabled any power saving feature it may have? Maybe start over with the network connections? Wipe them all out and then connect to them and order them again? Computers are glitchy sometimes..

Oh, and don't take the crazy advice of going WEP. You can easily look up how to hack onto a WEP WiFi on the web and leech free wifi from your router. Its highly unlikely that anyone would, but they could. Stay with WPA2, has nothing to do with it I would imagine as I'm using WPA2 and mine connects in order just fine.

ccy-mba

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2013