Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Bexhill
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Best external HD for video editing?

So I bought a T3i a while ago to shoot video projects with and was having some trouble with the footage I got off it (I made another post earlier; thanks for your help narrowing my problem down). It now looks like the problem is my external hard drive. It's a 1TB MyBook Studio with a FireWire 800 connection that I bought about two years ago and has served me well for editing up to this point. It looks like the files from the T3i are too much for it to handle, and when I import them to the drive some end up with corruptions like in the attached screenshot. Importing them to my desktop works fine, but the SSD in my laptop is small and not a realistic storage option.

So my question is: if I go out to buy a new external specifically for editing video from this camera, what should I go for? Speed seems to be my main concern; I thought the MyBook was pretty fast but I guess it's not up to par. Is FireWire still a good bet for editing, or is USB 3.0 the way to go? Thunderbolt? Are traditional hard drives fast enough or should I be looking at SSDs? Any particular models or brands you've had luck with? Ideally I'd like to stay on the cheap side, but I'd rather have guaranteed quality. 1TB or more would be the size I'd want. Any advice is appreciated; thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-25 at 5.06.57 PM.png
Views:	248
Size:	1.53 MB
ID:	392524  
Bexhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:32 PM   #2
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
you'll want to go with FW800 at least. In terms of brands, G-Tech drives are use mostly in the industry. I have 4 of them (12TB in total) and for the most part are fine. My last one needed to be reformatted as it wasn't formatted correctly.
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
iPod Touch, 64 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 11:05 AM   #3
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
FW 800 but NOT USB3.
Thunderbolt is your olny other option for laptop.
You did not specify laptop or desktop.
There is eSata too. That's just as fast as an internal drive. But on a laptop you will need an express port... only found on the 17" macbooks
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:55 PM   #4
Policar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
To what format are you transcoding? I've found I have issues with prores 444 on anything but eSATA or internal drives (and even then sometimes) but prores 422 and lower are okay over firewire 800.

Your disk might also be fragmented. OSX's built in defragger isn't great.

I would just transcode to lower quality video. 422 should work and looks great and even lower settings will be fine with dSLR footage.

You can also use RAID arrays for editing and back up to a regular hard drive, which is less likely to fail.
Policar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:38 PM   #5
Bexhill
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
OK, I'll look at FW800 and Thunderbolt-- 800 is what I have already so I was concerned that wasn't good enough. I can't find specs on how fast that MyBook is, so maybe it's not the connection that's causing the problem there. That'd be nice, as all the Thunderbolt drives I can find are really expensive. G-drives do look like a possibility.

For the record, I have a 2.9 GHz 13" MacBook Pro with 8GB RAM; it has USB, Thunderbolt and FW800. I have a 128GB SSD built in. I transcode to ProRes 422, and maybe the drive I had would be OK if I transcoded first before I put the files on there. The problem is that if I dump the raw files from the T3i (H.264 .movs) onto the drive, it creates compression artifacts before I can transcode them. I'll try importing them to the laptop's SSD and transcoding them before dumping them to the drive next time; it's just a problem of freeing up enough space.

When you all transcode your footage, do you hang on to the original files? I feel like I could keep using this drive if I didn't have to store the raw H.264, which it doesn't seem to like.
Bexhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 11:41 PM   #6
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
What do you mean compression artifacts? I dump my footage and then convert to 422 with out a hitch.
yes, I keep the original files.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QUESTION: Better to have Video files on 3g SSD and Video Editing Software on 6GSSD? Korican100 Mac Pro 5 Aug 4, 2013 05:09 AM
Editing video located on an external HD in iMovie? MacsomJRR Digital Video 2 Jul 24, 2013 11:45 PM
Video Editing - External Drive? Pandalorian MacBook Pro 0 Jun 12, 2013 04:08 PM
rMBP: Editing video in iMovie, editing photos in Aperture - using Intel HD 4000 GPU? spaceballl MacBook Pro 1 Oct 26, 2012 06:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC