Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 01:46 PM   #1
jrm27
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
What is wrong with my Time Machine backup drive?

Hi all,

I've been using Time Machine with an external 2TB drive for a while now (at least a year), without any problems. The other day when I came in, I had a notice on my screen that TM couldn't back up and that there was a problem with the drive.

It appears that I no longer have write-access to the drive. When I go into the info, I don't even see my profile in the "sharing and permissions". Which seems odd. I get this message when my comp tries to read the drive:

You can still open or copy files on the disk, but you canít save changes to files on the disk. Back up the disk and reformat it as soon as you can.

When I try and copy the backup file to another drive, so I can reformat my current TM drive, I get this message:

The backup canít be copied because the backup volume doesnít have ownership enabled.

Any thoughts on how I can fix this? I'd like to reformat the drive, but I don't want to lose the data backed up. Any thoughts? Thanks!
__________________
Flickr
jrm27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:56 PM   #2
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Use /Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility on the disk and "Repair Permissions" on that Time Machine hard disk. See if that helps.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:22 AM   #3
jrm27
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hi satcomer,

I should have included that I had already tried that. No dice. It tells me that I need to reformat the drive and to back up as much data from it as I can. Unfortunately, I can't back up anything from it as I cant copy the file to any other drive. Any thoughts?

-jon
__________________
Flickr
jrm27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:51 AM   #4
r0k
macrumors 68040
 
r0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm27 View Post
Hi satcomer,

I should have included that I had already tried that. No dice. It tells me that I need to reformat the drive and to back up as much data from it as I can. Unfortunately, I can't back up anything from it as I cant copy the file to any other drive. Any thoughts?

-jon
You have experienced the same phenomenon that convinced me Time Machine is not a good (only) backup solution. Assuming your original data is intact, delete the offending TM backup and start over. Yes you can no longer go back to the 2008 version of a particular file. I gave up on this capability years ago when Apple level 2 support instructed me to delete my old TM backup and start over when I was experiencing problems. It was about that time I started using an additional backup solution. My backup solutions include manual file copying, Crashplan, Carbon Copy Cloner and finally Time Machine.

Please note that it is NOT necessary to copy the old backup. You can simply reformat the old drive, losing the backup file (which is likely corrupted anyway) and start over. The sooner you do this the sooner you can have a backup which is actually a backup. In fact, allow me to add you should unmount the "Time Machine Backups" that creates an icon on your desktop. Only then can you browse to the "sparsebundle" file and delete it. Only if you are unable to delete the old sparsebundle do you need to consider formatting the drive that contains it. When you use disk utility to test a TM backup, you are verifying the contents of a file/folder structure, not a real device. If the "parent" HDD is working properly, you should merely delete the old sparsebundle file and start over. It would be called something like "joe's mac.sparsebundle"
__________________
-r0k
Macbook Pro (late 2011) iPad mini iPhone5
Got a scan to ftp scanner? Enable ftpd in Mavericks!
r0k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:21 PM   #5
jrm27
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thanks r0k. I've come to much the same conclusion myself. I signed up for Crashplan the other day and am in the process (long process) of backing up my most important files to it. I think I'd like to still keep a TM running just for duplicity's sake.

I'm not sure what you mean about the "sparsebundle" though. is that something that is kept on my TM drive? What does it do? How would I go about finding it?
__________________
Flickr
jrm27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:45 AM   #6
r0k
macrumors 68040
 
r0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm27 View Post
Thanks r0k. I've come to much the same conclusion myself. I signed up for Crashplan the other day and am in the process (long process) of backing up my most important files to it. I think I'd like to still keep a TM running just for duplicity's sake.

I'm not sure what you mean about the "sparsebundle" though. is that something that is kept on my TM drive? What does it do? How would I go about finding it?
Let's say you are backing up to a USB drive. During the backup, you see an icon called "Time Machine Backups" on your desktop. After the backup (clock stops spinning) the icon is gone. While the icon is gone, browse to the root folder of the drive you are backing up to and there is a rather large file called somethingorther.sparsebundle. A sparsebundle is basically a variable size dmg (disk image) file.

Caution about Crashplan. I'm using it and I'm delighted with it but it relies on Java and Java keeps crashing on my Macbook Pro after the latest ML update. First of all, to keep Crashplan functioning, I had to contact their support so they could tell me how to re-enable Java 1.6 even though Apple insists we install Java 1.7. Second of all when I asked when they would start using "native" code, the response was they do plan to go native but there is no firm date yet.
__________________
-r0k
Macbook Pro (late 2011) iPad mini iPhone5
Got a scan to ftp scanner? Enable ftpd in Mavericks!
r0k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC