Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smokeybear

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 30, 2013
I'm relatively new to Mac, and I'm still learning my way around my Macbook Pro 2010 from this summer. I was using terminal to do some class in work, and I keep noticing that the user name is something close to 'hello$' (as shown in the screenshot). I purchased this from another Mac user, and some of the settings weren't restored; like the user name and default language on the notebook was in Chinese.

In short, how do I change the user name. Also shown in the screenshot is my name, as you can see I already tried to change the computer's name/admin name.

Thanks in advance,

Attachments

• Screen+Shot+2013-01-30+at+10.25.18+PM.png
    Screen+Shot+2013-01-30+at+10.25.18+PM.png
    23.6 KB · Views: 164

mfram

Contributor
Jan 23, 2010
San Diego, CA USA
The "$" is the shell prompt, not part of the username. To see the username type the "id" command. Then you can use "pwd" to see the name of the user home directory.

smokeybear

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 30, 2013
The "$" is the shell prompt, not part of the username. To see the username type the "id" command. Then you can use "pwd" to see the name of the user home directory.

Ok, I went into another setting. Under User & Groups > right click admin account> advanced options. I changed the account name, but it doesn't look like I can change the home folder. Did a little more reading around last night, and if I read correctly, I'm not allowed to change the name of the home folder.

Even though I changed the account name. The home folder remains 'hello'. Any tips on how to progress? Can I even actually change it?

Stooby Mcdoobie

macrumors 6502a
Jun 26, 2012