Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:48 PM   #1
kulimer
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
How much does coding and writing loops damage your computer?

I am writing C and java code. My MBA needs to run 700,000,000 for loops, each time I click compile.

The fan is blowing out warm air and you feel heated on top of F1 and F2 keys.

How badly does this damage your laptop? Does it shorten the lifespan of your MBA?

I have the mid-2011 model 13-inch.
kulimer is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:52 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
I am writing C and java code. My MBA needs to run 700,000,000 for loops, each time I click compile.

The fan is blowing out warm air and you feel heated on top of F1 and F2 keys.

How badly does this damage your laptop? Does it shorten the lifespan of your MBA?

I have the mid-2011 model 13-inch.
Your Mac is designed to be used. It will not be damaged simply by running resource-intensive apps. If you're not already doing so, use iStat Pro (free) or iStat Menus ($16) to get accurate readings of your temps, fan speeds, etc., rather than relying on your sense of touch or sound. A forum member has posted a copy of iStat Pro that has been "tweaked" to enhance compatibility with Mountain Lion. You can download it here.

The Intel processors used in Macs are designed to automatically shut down to prevent damage if they truly overheat. CPU Tjmax = 105C (221F), GPU Tjmax = 100C (212F) on i3, i5, i7 processors. (Source: Intel)

Unless there is a rare defect in a Mac, most temps are well within the normal operating range, considering the workload being put on it. Websites with Flash content, games and other multimedia apps will put higher demand on the CPU/GPU, generating more heat. This is normal. If you're constantly putting high demands on your system, such as gaming or other multimedia tasks, expect temps to rise and fans to spin up accordingly. It's just your Mac doing its job to maintain temps within the normal range.

It is also quite normal for your Mac to become extremely hot to the touch during intensive operations. The aluminum body transfers heat more effectively than other materials used in computer casings, so you will feel the heat more. This doesn't indicate that it's overheating and will not harm the computer to be hot to the touch.

Your fans are always on when your Mac is on, spinning at a minimum of 2000 rpm (for MBPs) or 1800 rpm (for MBAs, MBs and minis). iMacs have 3 fans with minimum speeds in the 800-1200 range. They will spin faster as needed to keep temps at a safe level.

If your fans are spinning up without increased heat, try resetting the SMC.
(PRAM/NVRAM has nothing to do with these issues, so resetting it will not help.)

The intake and exhaust vents are in the back of the computer near the hinge on all Mac notebooks (except the new MBP with retina display, which has intake vents along the sides at the bottom). The iMac vent is a slot on the back near the top of the computer. Make sure the vents remain unblocked to allow your computer to perform at its best.

Learn about the fans in your Mac
Apple Portables: Operating temperature

For Flash-related issues:
GGJstudios is offline   3
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:01 PM   #3
kulimer
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
iStat pro appears as a widget in dashboard?

According to iStat
Fan speed: 6123rpm.
CUP temp: 76 degrees.

My MBA is running high, maybe you thought I am kidding.

Last edited by kulimer; Feb 1, 2013 at 01:06 PM.
kulimer is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:05 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
iStat pro appears as a widget in dashboard? That thing is so hard to read. It's not an actual software?

According to iStat
fan 5903rpm.
CUP 75 degrees.
It is software, it is a widget though, not an application you have to execute via double clicking.

And the temperatures you report are normal for high CPU usage.

Just out of curiosity, what does this mean?
Quote:
My MBA needs to run 700,000,000 for loops
simsaladimbamba is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:17 PM   #5
kulimer
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
It means I wrote a code that needs to run 700,000,000 loops to complete the programming.

That widget thing is so hard to read.
kulimer is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:18 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post

That widget thing is so hard to read.
What resolution is your MBA set to? And can you make a screenshot of your Dashboard via CMD+SHIFT+3 and attach it to your next post? Normally that widget is small, but not that hard to read.

As alternative you could use SMCFanControl, which resides in the Menu Bar.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:18 PM   #7
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
You will not "use up" your computer by using it.
TheRealDamager is offline   3
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:23 PM   #8
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
It means I wrote a code that needs to run 700,000,000 loops to complete the programming.

So you haven't executed the code yet, you are just compiling (translate text to binary) and creating an executable that the cpu can understand.

This question is like asking if you can hurt the car by running it hard. I suppose in older cars you can reeve it up beyond its design to damage it, but newer cars won't let you do that, it has a safeguard. Computers have built-in safeguards since day#1.

So are you building Stuxnet II?
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:26 PM   #9
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
It means I wrote a code that needs to run 700,000,000 loops to complete the programming.
That doesn't make any sense to me at all and I have been programming since I was 5 years old. Are you compiling a program that runs 700000000 loop iterations (why?), or are you compiling your program 700000000 times (why??!!) or do you have some fancy compiler which likes to run 700000000 loop iterations before actually starting to do its job (that at least sounds like fun)?

And anyway, you computer runs the code like ALL THE TIME. Asking whether it will damage it is like whether you will damage your shoes by wearing them (the answer is yes, by the way).
leman is offline   1
Old Feb 1, 2013, 04:47 PM   #10
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
I am writing C and java code. My MBA needs to run 700,000,000 for loops, each time I click compile.
That is “nothing”.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 04:57 PM   #11
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
OP, if you are still finding iStat Pro hard to read, you could download SMC Fan Control here. It doesn't give as detailed data, but it still gives you the CPU temp, and it's displayed in the menu bar rather than the dashboard
mrsir2009 is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:17 PM   #12
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
What about Temperature Monitor
MisterKeeks is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:54 PM   #13
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
I am writing C and java code. My MBA needs to run 700,000,000 for loops, each time I click compile.

The fan is blowing out warm air and you feel heated on top of F1 and F2 keys.

How badly does this damage your laptop? Does it shorten the lifespan of your MBA?

I have the mid-2011 model 13-inch.
The fan is blowing out warm air because it is supposed to blow out warm air. Running at full speed, the MBA will turn about 35 Watt into heat. Your Mac has no problems doing that for days at a time. And I assume your code uses one core only, in which case you don't get near the maximum heat the MBA is built for.

Make sure you don't hinder the cooling. Keep enough empty space around the Mac, don't put it onto the carpet or on a blanket, don't put it on your radiators.
gnasher729 is offline   1
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:35 PM   #14
kulimer
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
"service battery" warning is now on. 192 cycles.
kulimer is offline   0
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:58 PM   #15
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
"service battery" warning is now on. 192 cycles.
The Service Battery indicator comes on if your battery is defective, or if your battery health drops below 75%, even if it's not defective. If you have AppleCare, have AppleCare check out your battery. Even if you don't have AppleCare, it won't hurt to have them check it out for defects. They sometimes make exceptions and replace a battery free, even if it's out of coverage.

The link below should answer most, if not all, of your battery/charging questions. If you haven't already done so, I highly recommend you take the time to read it.
Apple Notebook Battery FAQ
GGJstudios is offline   0
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:59 AM   #16
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
Make sure you don't hinder the cooling. Keep enough empty space around the Mac, don't put it onto the carpet or on a blanket, don't put it on your radiators.
Here's an excellent story what happens if you don't follow this advice:

http://thedailywtf.com/Articles/Human-Heat-Sink.aspx
gnasher729 is offline   0
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:58 PM   #17
curious80
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
700 million loop iterations is actually a pretty small code - a few seconds at max (unless you are doing a lot of work per loop iteration). I have run much longer running computationally intense test codes on my macbook pro over last 3 years and never even thought about it causing an issue. Your laptop is likely to be stressed more by decompressing and playing a high def movie then this code.
curious80 is offline   0
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:55 PM   #18
JDB1983
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
MBAs are only rated for 900m for loops, so take it easy or else Apple could refuse any warranty you have on it.
JDB1983 is offline   5
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:28 PM   #19
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
I am writing C and java code. My MBA needs to run 700,000,000 for loops, each time I click compile.

The fan is blowing out warm air and you feel heated on top of F1 and F2 keys.

How badly does this damage your laptop? Does it shorten the lifespan of your MBA?

I have the mid-2011 model 13-inch.
Naw. I left my old 2008 MacBook Pro doing renders and simulations for multiple days at a time and it's still ticking as a companion to my new iMac. Just make sure it can keep cool and you'll be fine.
12dylan34 is offline   0
Old Feb 7, 2013, 08:37 AM   #20
ctdonath
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
A properly built computer will not degrade by "running hard". There's an upper limit to how much work it can do, and cooling systems etc. should be designed for indefinite operation at those levels. Even if the cooling system completely fails, normal technology will slow the processor to keep it operating within safe heat parameters.

My home-bound notebook computer's fan failed. I leave it running 24/7. The memory is anemic enough that modern software hits the disk-bound virtual memory hard. I've left it in this decrepit state, hoping that thru overheating and abuse it will just die already and give me an excuse to buy another computer. Three years later, it's still slogging along.

As 12dylan34 noted, people run CPU-grinding video rendering for days/weeks/months at a time with no ill effect. Distributed research tools like SETI@Home, Folding@Home, and prime-number searches keep millions of computers running hard continuously. Looping less than a billion times? Or even less than a billion separate loops? meh. So it gets a little warmer than you, mere human, find comfortable; the computer is literally just getting warmed up.
ctdonath is offline   0
Old Feb 12, 2013, 06:41 PM   #21
kulimer
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I got a question, how do you know which 2GB memory is running youtube, which one is running your programming?

How do I know those 2 tasks are not done in one memory chip but two?
kulimer is offline   0
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:22 PM   #22
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
I got a question, how do you know which 2GB memory is running youtube, which one is running your programming?

How do I know those 2 tasks are not done in one memory chip but two?
1. Memory isn't running anything. Cores are running tasks.
2. You don't know, it changes all the time, it doesn't make any difference, and why would you care?
gnasher729 is offline   0
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:33 PM   #23
kulimer
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
1. Memory isn't running anything. Cores are running tasks.
2. You don't know, it changes all the time, it doesn't make any difference, and why would you care?
2. I am programming and listening to youtube, so I'm curious if youtube will slow down my program, if so, I'll listen something on iTunes.
kulimer is offline   0
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:45 PM   #24
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
2. I am programming and listening to youtube, so I'm curious if youtube will slow down my program, if so, I'll listen something on iTunes.
Running a second program will slow down your compile regardless if it's youtube or iTunes.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Iris Pro + GT 750M 2GB, Retina, 10.9.5, 8.1 Pro Update 1
iPhone 6+ | Gray, 128GB, T-Mobile, iOS 8
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, T-Mobile, iOS 8
ayeying is offline   0
Old Feb 17, 2013, 10:17 PM   #25
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulimer View Post
2. I am programming and listening to youtube, so I'm curious if youtube will slow down my program, if so, I'll listen something on iTunes.
If you are a programmer and u don't know, I worry.
Mrbobb is offline   5


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to try Coding. gomattgo MacBook Pro 6 Feb 23, 2014 07:15 PM
2 vs 4 cores for PS and coding adeblas MacBook Pro 0 Nov 28, 2013 02:56 PM
iPod Touch 4g won't connect to computer after charger damage P4r4doX iPod touch 7 Oct 30, 2012 11:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps