Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:58 PM   #1
RolledUp20s
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
How fast can my Air handle on WiFi?

i have the macbook air mid 2011 - its the 13'' model, 4GB, 1.7 Ghz i5.
i recently upgraded my broadband to fibre optic and i should be getting 66Meg Max, however..drop 10Mbps from the exchange...they guestimate around 56Mbps average download speeds for me. Now, when i run speedtest..the best i've seen is 31Mbps DL and 17 Upload. it tends to be more like 27Mbps DL though...so i'm getting half of what i should be. when the engineer was here with his ''ahem-windows laptop'' he was getting 56Mbps on my wifi..so, im curious as to what the macbook air can handle on wifi? or are there any other tests i can do? sadly having no ethernet port on the air..i can't try a cabled connection to see if i am actually getting 56bps.

cheers anyways.

Last edited by RolledUp20s; Feb 17, 2013 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Meg to Mbps ;)
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:07 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Just to clarify, with "Meg" (short for "Mega") do you mean Mb/s (Megabit/s) or MB/s (MegaByte/s)? What is the shown Transmit Rate when you OPTION click the WiFi / AirPort icon in the Menu Bar?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:29 PM   #3
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Just to clarify, with "Meg" (short for "Mega") do you mean Mb/s (Megabit/s) or MB/s (MegaByte/s)? What is the shown Transmit Rate when you OPTION click the WiFi / AirPort icon in the Menu Bar?

sorry, ye it's Mbps...i was just typing as i was 'saying it' in my head. my bad
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 02:23 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolledUp20s View Post
sorry, ye it's Mbps...i was just typing as i was 'saying it' in my head. my bad
And what is the Transmit Rate?

And 66 Mb/s is not that difficult to get with a proper 802.11n router, but which router do you actually have?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:13 PM   #5
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolledUp20s View Post
sadly having no ethernet port on the air..i can't try a cabled connection to see if i am actually getting 56Meg.

This Apple adapter will give u a gigabit ethernet port.

WIFI should be sufficient for the test however, but the above adapter will confirm u have a less than optimal WIFI configuration.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:56 PM   #6
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
This Apple adapter will give u a gigabit ethernet port.

WIFI should be sufficient for the test however, but the above adapter will confirm u have a less than optimal WIFI configuration.
ok, well...whats the wifi test i can do? i just did a wifi diagnostic report..but it doesn't meen much to me all the files it's generated
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 02:10 PM   #7
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
just turned my wi-fi off on the mac, left it 10secs, turned back on and now i just got





although, ping is higher? ive seen that on 10 before..

----------

now we're talking...



thats on a server further away aswel? ..well, im in wrexham...40miles from liverpool...thats saying 150 & that im closer to london?? WTF?
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 02:40 PM   #8
Chris.L
macrumors 6502a
 
Chris.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by RolledUp20s View Post
just turned my wi-fi off on the mac, left it 10secs, turned back on and now i just got


Image


although, ping is higher? ive seen that on 10 before..

----------

now we're talking...
Image


thats on a server further away aswel? ..well, im in wrexham...40miles from liverpool...thats saying 150 & that im closer to london?? WTF?
Depends where your ISP breaks out. I'm on Virgin which breaks out in Basingstoke which is about 20 miles away from me.

Is your WiFi a, b, g or n?
__________________
New to forums?
Chris.L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:23 PM   #9
RolledUp20s
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
well, i have just used the new sky router that they sent out. i do have a netgear n300 but found 5Ghz not a good connection around the house and possibly interferes with the wiiU gamepad connection (but that's another story)

So, using sky's new router this is the following i get when OPTION on wifi :

PHY MODE: 802.11n
channel: 11 (2.4GHz)
RSSI: -46
TRANSMIT RATE: 130
MCS INDEX : 15

So, whats all that meen then?

cheers guys
RolledUp20s is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much FCP can a Macbook Air handle? Andrew Ryan MacBook Air 2 Jan 23, 2014 09:40 AM
iPad: Wifi on the iPad air is crazy fast bobright iPad 31 Nov 4, 2013 12:40 PM
Can base 13'' Air handle windows? mushroomzx MacBook Air 24 Jul 1, 2012 02:16 PM
Can base 13'' Air handle CAD? iannella MacBook Air 2 Jun 14, 2012 10:12 AM
New (2012) Air Handle... theDH MacBook Air 0 Jun 11, 2012 05:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC