Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Old Feb 19, 2013, 08:41 AM   #1
Jeanjeannie
macrumors newbie

Help, I am going M A D !

I am new to Macs and I am really missing my old drawing programme
Serif Drawplus. I am looking for something to replace it which is not mega expensive and also has the option to make cards. I do all my own Greetings cards and friends and family expect them now.
Does anyone know of a Mac programme which will fit the bill?
Thanks in advance
JJ
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cheers.png
Views:	46
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	398034  
Jeanjeannie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:31 AM   #2
bbeers
macrumors regular

Cheap / Free Vector Drawing Software

While I haven't personally us it, I would take a look at Inkscape it is a free solution i keep hearing people talk about, mostly good.

I would aso look into the Sketchbook apps from Autodesk, there is a free version in the App Store. They have a great interface if you use a tablet regularly.

iDraw would be another option.
bbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:58 PM   #3
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a

I love iDraw which is a very intuitive vector program -about $25 I think, Pixelmator is still on sale for $15 in the Mac App Store and is very good -somewhat similar to Photoshop, Sketchbook Express & Sketchbook Copic are both free but more limited --tools & layers-wise, etc.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:36 PM   #4
Jeanjeannie
macrumors newbie

Thanks very much for the info.
Do you know if any of these programmes have templates for greetings cards, business cards, banners etc?
JJ
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:23 PM   #5
martinX
macrumors 6502a

Take a look at PrintMaster.

Edit: I just looked at some reviews of it. May not be the app you want...

Last edited by martinX; Feb 19, 2013 at 03:29 PM.
martinX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:14 PM   #6