Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:34 PM   #1
Obioban
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Running out of space and would like to move my bootcamp to an SD card... Possible?

I got the 128gb MacBook air and it's getting tight. I occasionally need to boot into windows for car programming, but I certainly don't need full SSD speed. The 30gb windows partition is just killing me.

Is there any way to move it to an SD card and be able to boot from it as I am now on the SSD partition?
Obioban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:06 PM   #2
BeeJee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island/North Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
I got the 128gb MacBook air and it's getting tight. I occasionally need to boot into windows for car programming, but I certainly don't need full SSD speed. The 30gb windows partition is just killing me.

Is there any way to move it to an SD card and be able to boot from it as I am now on the SSD partition?
It would probably be better to set up a virtual machine rather than an SD card. I use VAG-COM on Windows 7 through Parallels and it works great.
BeeJee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:13 PM   #3
Obioban
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeJee View Post
It would probably be better to set up a virtual machine rather than an SD card. I use VAG-COM on Windows 7 through Parallels and it works great.
Eh, virtual machines get pretty painful pretty quickly with 4gb of ram, in my experience.

Is it possible to boot it into windows from an SD card?
Obioban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:41 PM   #4
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
There are lots of posts about this. Search the forums. Start here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1402854
Pharmscott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:36 AM   #5
Obioban
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharmscott View Post
There are lots of posts about this. Search the forums. Start here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1402854
All the threads I found, including that one which I read before I made this, are about storing virtual machines on an SD. I'm looking to boot from an SD card using boot camp.
Obioban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 11:23 AM   #6
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
+1 to Parallels, much easier to use and much less of a space hog. Give really really strong consideration to upgrading your very small SSD size while you are at it.
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 09:00 PM   #7
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
All the threads I found, including that one which I read before I made this, are about storing virtual machines on an SD. I'm looking to boot from an SD card using boot camp.
Gotcha. Sorry I wasn't really that helpful then.
Pharmscott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 01:25 PM   #8
oneMadRssn
macrumors 65816
 
oneMadRssn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
I'm looking to boot from an SD card using boot camp.
I would also be interested to hear of people's experience with this. I cannot think of why it shouldn't work.
oneMadRssn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 05:00 AM   #9
DisplacedMic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
I got the 128gb MacBook air and it's getting tight. I occasionally need to boot into windows for car programming, but I certainly don't need full SSD speed. The 30gb windows partition is just killing me.

Is there any way to move it to an SD card and be able to boot from it as I am now on the SSD partition?
this is an interesting thread. i hate to be a selfish threadjacker but if you could do it over would this issue inspire you to upgrade the HD if you could do it over?

it's an extra $200 to go to 256 and $500 to 512

as for your question - a few months ago i was having trouble even mounting an sdcard reader using vmware winxp.

as for bootcamp, I don't think you can setup bootcamp on any external drive. as in BC assistant won't even give you the option. i suspect they bult that in as a handicap for piracy prevention reasons. The irony there is you can install lion+ on a sd card and run THAT without the hd but that's obviously not what you're looking to do given the amount of time it sounds like you spend in a VM/win environment
DisplacedMic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 05:32 AM   #10
JohnnyComeLatly
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I'm working my way around to Windows, but I have just recently started playing with Ubuntu booting from a micro USB memory stick (32GB). So far, it's working great installing IRC, TorBrowsers, TrueCrypt, and a slew of CPU/resource intensive things.

So, the way you do it is to create a bootable image on the thumbstick. There's a few websites out there than can help you. Then, as you boot your MBA, hold the "Option Key." You'll see your normal boot partition, the recovery partition, and then your bootable USB. Use the arrow (my trackpad wasn't working at this point) to move over to USB, and then press enter key. You'll boot from the USB. With Ubuntu, I'm wanting to say I've got about 20 of the 36 gig available. I bought a second USB to try Windows later.

No bootcamp needed. No VM, and not only does everything work, I can also mount my internal SSD drive. The trackpad works as well once it's booted, which I mention because some websites I researched said they had to use an external mouse. I didn't need to, nor have I tried it yet.
__________________
2 iPad (2nd gen), New iPad (3rd gen), iPhone 5, Apple TV, 2008 build iMac, 2012 Mac Mini base (OWC upgraded SSD, more memory), 2008 MBP w/ Hybrid SSD/Platter HD, 2012 MBA
JohnnyComeLatly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 06:02 AM   #11
digitalhen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Do you actually need OS X? I run just Windows 7 on my 2011 MBA 11", and it runs fantastically - the battery life is actually better as well.
__________________
2010 Hexacore 3.33GHz Mac Pro, 24 GB ram, 240 GB Vertex 2 SSD, 6 TB RAID0, 27" ACD, 24" Dell
2011 1.8GHz MacBook Air 11", 4GB ram, 250 GB Apple SSD
digitalhen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 07:16 AM   #12
DisplacedMic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalhen View Post
Do you actually need OS X? I run just Windows 7 on my 2011 MBA 11", and it runs fantastically - the battery life is actually better as well.
whoa - that's the opposite of a hackintosh.
what should we call that?

Mindows
Hindows
Hacbook
Wacintosh
stepinthewrongdirectiontosh?


DisplacedMic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 07:20 AM   #13
digitalhen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Hilarious!
digitalhen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nike+ Move app - think I'm running all day mazz0 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Nov 28, 2013 09:13 AM
Parallel PC - Move to BootCamp? metasone Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Aug 11, 2013 08:42 AM
Running Out Of Space... acearchie Digital Photography 11 Sep 8, 2012 03:43 PM
Move bootcamp to non-system drive Lastmboy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Jul 29, 2012 05:31 AM
Apple Preparing Move to Expanded Space at Largest Mall in U.S. MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 65 Jul 28, 2012 02:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC