Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fruu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 5, 2013
Hello there! I'm a a complete noob when it comes to Apple computers (if I end up buying rMBP it would be my first one), so I figured I could use some help. After a few weeks of researching I'm pretty much convinced I am interested in rMBP 13", but correct me if I'm wrong and it's not good enough for what I want to do.

The main reason why I'm considering rMBP in the first place is that I'm still at Uni and I really need a light machine to carry around with me. Yet, I wouldn't want any ultrabook type of thing, because I fear that in the long run it would simply prove to be a waste of money, somehow (even the ones with not so impressive specs are not that cheap)?

I surely need a portable machine, but I'd need to do some photo editing on it as well (for now it would be my main machine, but not forever, + another reason not to consider ultrabooks, at least I guess?).
By photo editing I mean high res photos, mainly RAWs, obviously Photoshop, Lightroom.
I reckon 8 gb RAM will suit me quite okay as I don't do any video editing?

However, my main question is what processor configuration should I choose for best price/speed compromise? I was thinking about getting the basic 256 SSD, i5 2.6 ghz, as from what I heard the power difference is not that significant in comparison to i7, as they are both dual core, but I can't seem to find any benchmarks of the early 2013 i7, are there any?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Last edited:

Santabean2000

macrumors 68000
Nov 20, 2007
Just buy the base and call it a day.

If you can afford it the 15" might be a better bet longer term with the option of more RAM.

bdj33ranch

macrumors regular
Apr 19, 2005
If you go to the current MacWorld dot com website and scroll to the bottom there is a review that shows comparisons.

Pharmscott

macrumors 6502a
Dec 13, 2011