Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bmehilos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 19, 2007
Illinois
Server noob here. I work at a university where all machines that are going to be put in storage or recycled have to have their hard drives erased securely with a 3-pass erase. Automating this over a small LAN is easy for all of the PCs we have, as they have PXE, so getting DBAN on them from a server is a breeze.
Macs don't have this ability, and going around, booting from an install disk or volume, going into Terminal and wiping the drive on the hundreds of Macs we have is a bit more work than I feel it needs to be. I'd like to somehow get some Macs connected to a small LAN (server+switch, nothing crazy) and just immediately start wiping their drives. As far as I can tell OS X Server allows for Automator actions to be run post-install during imaging, but I'm wondering if there is a way to get a shell script Automator action to run right off the bat and start erasing the drives once they connect to the server.

Am I even looking in the right direction with OS X Server/Automator/etc, or are there other, easier ways to set something like this up with other tools I've overlooked?

Thanks in advance

aarond12

macrumors 65816
May 20, 2002
Dallas, TX USA
If you have Mac OS X Server running on a machine, you can create a NetBoot image. Once that's configured correctly on the server, restarting the Mac with the N key held down boots to that NetBoot image. You could put the erase process in the NetBoot image so it would automatically run.

stuckwithme247

macrumors regular
Jan 14, 2003
Server noob here. I work at a university where all machines that are going to be put in storage or recycled have to have their hard drives erased securely with a 3-pass erase. Automating this over a small LAN is easy for all of the PCs we have, as they have PXE, so getting DBAN on them from a server is a breeze.