Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sup3rknova

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 11, 2010
Riverside, CA
Hello everyone,
I just started learning electric guitar. I am not trying to do any serious recording, just learning and having fun with my 6 year old boy learning together. I know I can simply get a cord to go from the guitar to the headphone jack into my macbook pro to get some good garageband effects. But is there any adapter or way to hear the audio through my headphones when playing late at night? Something similar to those dual headphone plugs that would allow two headphones. I know it wouldn't be the same thing since one audio is in and one is out, but I figured theres gotta be a way to send my guitar into the laptop but hear it only through headphones. I do not have an amp by the way...Like I said, for now I'm just casually learning and having fun. Thanks for any replies. :)

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hello everyone,
I just started learning electric guitar. I am not trying to do any serious recording, just learning and having fun with my 6 year old boy learning together. I know I can simply get a cord to go from the guitar to the headphone jack into my macbook pro to get some good garageband effects. But is there any adapter or way to hear the audio through my headphones when playing late at night? Something similar to those dual headphone plugs that would allow two headphones. I know it wouldn't be the same thing since one audio is in and one is out, but I figured theres gotta be a way to send my guitar into the laptop but hear it only through headphones. I do not have an amp by the way...Like I said, for now I'm just casually learning and having fun. Thanks for any replies. :)

Get a "real" audio interface with in instrument input and a headphone jack. The cheapest one that is still good quality is about $60