Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

white89gt

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 18, 2006
I'm new to the idea of writing programs for the Mac platform and have a few questions.

1. Is XCode on the OSX Tiger install DVD?
2. It XCode a lot like C/C++?

I know these questions have probably been asked before so please forgive me...I couldn't find what I was looking for using the search.

Thanks in advance.

dukebound85

macrumors Core
Jul 17, 2005
5045 feet above sea level
Yes xcode is on the dvd i think it is called developer tools. scode ia a part of that.

Well sorta, xcode lets you compile in c++. xcoded isn't a language but more an application that lets you debug programs and such.

If anyobe has a better explanation feel free to add

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004
I would describe xcode as an IDE (integrated development environment) that allows you to write code for the Mac. It's kind of like MS's Visual Studio (I've haven't used either to any great extent, but that's my initial impression - correct me if I'm wrong).

But unlike Visual Studio, it's free, and allows you to write code for C/C++, Obj-C, Java and AppleScript/Automator, in other words just about anything you need to write any kind of code for the Mac.

mrichmon

macrumors 6502a
Jun 17, 2003
white89gt said:
1. Is XCode on the OSX Tiger install DVD?
2. It XCode a lot like C/C++?

Yes, XCode is part of the Developer Tools suite of programs. The installer for Developer Tools is on the OS X Tiger install DVD but is not part of the OS X installer. You need to separately run the Developer Tools installer after you have installed OS X. If you have a decent broadband connection then you may be better off downloading the current Developer Tools installer from the Apple site since Developer Tools have been updated a couple of times since Tiger was released. The current version of XCode is 2.2 and can be downloaded here.