Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bigdz68

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 23, 2004
Bay YAYrea
Hi,

searched through the forums and can't seem to find anything about this. Also checked nVidia and google with no real luck.

I ran diagnostics on my PowerMac G5 this morning after my system crashed to find this code during the video card test:
2NVD/1/4: 2119

Anyone have a clue? My system will start up but stops at the blue screens and just sits there. Currently running 2+ Gb of RAM and all the other apple diagnostic tests passed with exception of the card. I also have an ATI card installed to run a 3rd monitor but I can't remember the model as Im at work.

I will try installing a backup ATi card when I get home but thought I would post to see if anyone had some thoughts. I have been using this card since 2004 and put it under some heavy stress for 3 straight years....but if its fixable that would be nice. I might have applecare left on that system but its very close to ending and I dont think it will apply to the card after all this time. No big deal just trying to find out WHAT the problem is.

I was planning on upgrading to run 4-6 monitors anyways but since this is a 2004 G5 that will be a headache! Might as well splurge on the MacPro in a few months! But it still would be great to fix this in the meantime!

the CreaTurE

macrumors newbie
Nov 7, 2007
possible "solution", well ... sort of

As I got the same problem with my Nvidia Geforce 6800 Ultra DLL Card and fiddled around for about 4 hours. I can now work again with some restrictions.

I wondered, why I got graphics using Hardware Check which gave me a VRAM error code of 2NVD/1/4:2119 (where 2119 is the ROM Revision number of the video card).

You might try this procedure: