Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cody1428

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2007
Dallas, Texas
ok i am pretty new at the mac-ness so i might just be dumb about everything....anyways i have a macBook thats just about 3 weeks old and something happened whenever i click the mail app it will load up like it wants to work but then no messages will show and when the curser is over the window there is a spinning ball, then i am have to force quit to close it...i tried running the 2 grey install disks (Mac OS X) thinking that might fix it but no...it didnt....can anybody help me?

ps....my iphoto wont load either it just bounces once and nothing will happen, tried running iLife '08 a few times but nothing....mail app is more important but i wish to fix both

-cody

cody1428

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2007
Dallas, Texas
no all my other apps work....just the mail app will stop responding and the iphoto just refuses to do anything except it will bounce one time....honestly i havent really dont anything....i havent even really downloaded any other apps other than microsoft word and azureus.

i tried to go to the genius bar at the apple store he explained to me, after he pointed out that the warranty doesnt cover software after 14 days, that all i would need to do is run the mac os x install disc 1 & 2 and then iLife '08....but it didnt work....

its as if i am missing components to these 2 apps or something

cody1428

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2007
Dallas, Texas
omg i figured it out....the mail was mailfunctioning when it tried to connect to the server....i had to totally disconnect from the internet turning off the airport ect., then i launched the mail....after i saw that it wasnt frozen i turned on my airport and whoo-la it worked.....

now i just need help with my iphoto

ClassicBean

macrumors 6502a
Jun 20, 2004
Torontoland