Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ebel3003

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 20, 2007
"The Google"
Hey MR programmer community,

I'm pretty new to Cocoa (and extremely new to the notion of coding many things without actually writing code) and just started buckling down and learning it this week. I'm extremely excited about Core Data and cocoa bindings. I've gotten myself stuck on one thing, though.

Say I have a Core Data model built like this:
The top of the tree is called Person.
Person has two String attributes, one called name and the other called city

Now suppose I create another NSTableView and assign the table column to People.city. I want to filter out any duplicates into that NSTableColumn so that it will only display unique/distinct rows. Now I've read about key operators like "@distinctUnionOfArrays", but I'm not exactly sure how to go about implementing them. It can be done via the Bindings inspector, right? Could someone help me out here? :)

Thanks,
Ebel3003

Fukui

macrumors 68000
Jul 19, 2002
Hey MR programmer community,

I'm pretty new to Cocoa (and extremely new to the notion of coding many things without actually writing code) and just started buckling down and learning it this week. I'm extremely excited about Core Data and cocoa bindings. I've gotten myself stuck on one thing, though.

Say I have a Core Data model built like this:
The top of the tree is called Person.
Person has two String attributes, one called name and the other called city

Now suppose I create another NSTableView and assign the table column to People.city. I want to filter out any duplicates into that NSTableColumn so that it will only display unique/distinct rows. Now I've read about key operators like "@distinctUnionOfArrays", but I'm not exactly sure how to go about implementing them. It can be done via the Bindings inspector, right? Could someone help me out here? :)

Thanks,
Ebel3003