Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:20 PM   #1
Techguy172
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
How Much Power does the Mac Pro Use?

Does Anyone know how much power it uses. So How Much power does the Power supply take in?

Thanks
__________________
Macbook 2.2 4GB 320GB 7200 Sony DSLR-A200
Follow Me On Twitter
Techguy172 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 07:37 PM   #2
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
I can't say exactly but mine uses about 17-20% of the total power for my UPS (a 1500VA unit). (based on apcupsd with stats for Mac Pro powered down and then up)

Thats 255VA - 300VA (assuming a power efficiency of 80% on the Mac Pro's 1000Watt PSU this gives 204-240watts draw on my system) (VA*PF=Watts)

My box currently has three disks, 8cores (6 of em running Seti Boinc @90%) and doing stuff.

InTheory the PSU (being a 1000Watt unit at the assumed efficiency rating of 80%) could draw a maximum of about 1260watts from the mains if the Mac Pro were able to pull the max power from it - Extremely unlikely!)

Hope this helps

(lets hope my math is good as its late... lol)
__________________
Bunny has an iPhone 5C, an iPad Mini Retina, a PC & a MacBook Pro retina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
costabunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 08:02 PM   #3
Techguy172
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
Thanks That helped a lot!!
__________________
Macbook 2.2 4GB 320GB 7200 Sony DSLR-A200
Follow Me On Twitter
Techguy172 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 10:58 PM   #4
dchao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Do remember, there is also a wake from sleep surge, around 5A, 600 Watts.
dchao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 06:24 AM   #5
Techguy172
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
So What your saying is the Mac Pro isn't always drawing 1000 watts from the wall it only draws when it needs it.

Sorry for the confusion!
__________________
Macbook 2.2 4GB 320GB 7200 Sony DSLR-A200
Follow Me On Twitter
Techguy172 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 06:28 AM   #6
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techguy172 View Post
So What your saying is the Mac Pro isn't always drawing 1000 watts from the wall it only draws when it needs it.

Sorry for the confusion!
Yep indeed - electrical devices only draw what they need at the time

__________________
Bunny has an iPhone 5C, an iPad Mini Retina, a PC & a MacBook Pro retina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
costabunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 06:39 AM   #7
Siron
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Carolina
I have my MP (with 3 internal drives) connected to an APC 1200 and I have to wait for the UPS to go through its startup cycle (battery test etc) so that the green light is steady before I hit the start button on the MP. If I don't then the USP gives me an Overload warning. I'm sure this is due to the fact that I have my HP Laserjet, DSL Modem, and a Netgear wireless router hooked up to the "always on" outlet of the UPS, and when the UPS powers up it also powers my USB hub and DROBO external TM with 2 discs. These loads may push the UPS over the top when the MP starts up (and presumably draws maximum load).
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0GHZ, 4GB Ram, nVidia GTX285 2010 13" MacBook Air + Superdrive iPhone 3GS TV iPad
Siron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 07:03 AM   #8
netherfred
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techguy172 View Post
Does Anyone know how much power it uses. So How Much power does the Power supply take in?

Thanks
http://barefeats.com/harper7.html

Somewhere around the middle is a small table comparing the power usage of various Mac Pro configurations and an iMac
__________________
_______________________
Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do...
netherfred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 07:09 AM   #9
Techguy172
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ontario Canada
Thanks a lot guys, this was really helpful!
__________________
Macbook 2.2 4GB 320GB 7200 Sony DSLR-A200
Follow Me On Twitter
Techguy172 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2008, 09:30 AM   #10
Roy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by netherfred View Post
http://barefeats.com/harper7.html

Somewhere around the middle is a small table comparing the power usage of various Mac Pro configurations and an iMac
netherfred,

Great link. Definitely good information. Thanks.
Roy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro Power Lead jakesaunders27 Mac Pro 4 Sep 7, 2013 03:00 AM
power cord for Mac Pro 1,1 olsend81 Mac Pro 7 Jul 6, 2013 12:32 PM
Power consumption Mac Pro Mac Hammer Fan Mac Pro 5 Apr 19, 2013 02:06 PM
power not working on mac pro dtechlogic Mac Pro 18 Jan 6, 2013 08:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC