Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

YsoSerious

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 8, 2008
O.K my day old iphone 3GS is killing me. The top part (first row of icons) is completely unresponsive. When I first got home did the restore on new iPhone the bottom row was kind of hard to use, the slider when you turn it on took many swipes with the my finger for it to finally respond and the keyboard buttons, some letters weren't working properly or at all when pressed. I turned it off then back on and it went away, but now the top part of my phone is now unresponsive.

Things done so far:
- Soft reset
- Restore

Right now it's restored back to factory settings and it's still unresponsive.

- OK now I'm new to the Mac world (3yrs old) and have never returned anything. Do I call Apple Support or do I go down to the Apple Store and see if they will replace it?(1 day old) I can't go without my PHONE, because I used it for work so which alternative can make this happen.

eron

macrumors 6502
Dec 2, 2008
Similar problem here. Except switching it off and restoring doesn't help at all.

scootaru

macrumors 6502
Nov 7, 2008
Columbus, OH
That's not normal. Set up an appointment at the Genius Bar and get it looked at. I would stop trying to fix the problem at this point. If the problem somehow goes away, it could return at an inconvenient time down the road, like when you are out of warranty.

stezza333

macrumors regular
May 12, 2009
Dames problem here with my 1 week old 3gs. Second row from the bottom is unresponsive. Gonna take it back to the apple store tomorrow.

YsoSerious

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 8, 2008