Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sc2sick

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 1, 2009
I got a used Powerbook G4 about a month or so ago with the following specs: 12", 1.5 ghz, 512MB RAM, 60 GB HDD, CDRW/DVD combo, airport, bluetooth, etc..

I had been running OSX 10.4.11 with all current updates and last night it began to lock up. It kicked me out of firefox so I rebooted. On reboot I could not get firefox, safari or adium to launch.. I figured since I'm an Apple noob for the most part and I didn't have anything on the drive that wasn't already backed up somewhere else I would just reinstall the OS. The 10.4 reinstallation failed saying there was an error, please try installing the software again.

I then tried using the OEM restore CD for 10.3.7 and that failed as well (possibly because it was pretty scratched up, but it passed the disk check at the beginning of the install)

I then wanted to determine if it was more a hardware or software issue so I tried running Ubuntu 9.04 PPC Desktop CD since I had successfully run that in the past with no issues.. it eventually came up with distorted lines and told me it was running in low graphics mode... and wouldn't work...

I tried resetting the PRM and NVRAM I think it was, holding command option P R.. and the other remove all sources of power, hold power button for 5 seconds etc.. no effect from those as well..

Thoughts? I just sold off my Eee901 netbook an hour before this happened and I really don't want to have to go buy another laptop after selling a perfectly good one last night.. I'm currently posting from an old Thinkpad P2 400mhz running WinXP (ick)

Could it be the video card? Possibly the hard drive? Fixes?

the vj

macrumors 6502a
Nov 23, 2006
Strange... I have had 4 12" powerbooks just like yours and I still having 2 of them working just fine. One got damaged a year ago (motherboard) and the otherone got stolen a month ago.