Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Titchski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 22, 2004
Ok, here goes, I've been reading the MacRumours forums for a while now (awesome site) and was seriously contemplating getting a 12" PowerBook this month, but there seems to be a lot of rumours going around about G5 PB's or G4 extended PB's sometime this winter or early next year. So, I have a cunning plan..

Bearing in mind I have never used a Mac before I am going to get an iBook to "practice" on.

During this practice period my missus will get insanely jealous of the iBook and will want it. I will gradually wean her off her PC and onto the iBook until she uses it more than me. This should take about 6 months or so which should be just around the time of release for new powerbooks.

Does anyone see any fatal flaws in this plan? :D :confused:

emw

macrumors G4
Aug 2, 2004
Titchski said:
Does anyone see any fatal flaws in this plan? :D :confused:

You're assuming it will take 6 months to wean her from the PC. More likely she's going to want it about 6 minutes after you get it home.

Then what? :D

SolidGun

macrumors 6502
Jul 24, 2004
Twin Cities
I cannot believe that we are so terrible on our women. I was going to do the same thing, but in a different way. I figured that after reading all the posts, it won't be for a while that the G5 PB would be out. So I got a 12"PB 1.33 and decided to use it to get used to Mac. I purchased the books and such. All I have to do is hand everything over to my wife later on, when they begin selling the next PB.
But I will have to accidentally break her PC laptop and take her away from my 2 desktops. She utterly hates Macs, but if I addes some flowers........

Eomando

macrumors member
Apr 7, 2004
UK
hehe, i think the most fatal flaw you can find with that plan is that *SHE* will want the new powerbook :p

rdowns

macrumors Penryn
Jul 11, 2003
Eomando said: