Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

misguided

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 29, 2004
i need to replace the hard drive on my imac . can anyone give me advice on how to replace it or point me to a website that can help. how do i access the hard drive? i'm a newbie to this stuff. thanks sooo much

mklos

macrumors 68000
Dec 4, 2002
My house!
Below is a link to the actual Apple Service Manual for your particular iMac. Its 11.4MB so hopefully you're not on dialup. I don't believe its very hard at all. Just remember that you can not put a huge drive in it. I don't remember the maximum size of hard drive it will recognize. Somewhere on the Apple Support page it will tell you.

http://z1.micro.umn.edu/ucs/imac_sl.pdf

lost_mobius

macrumors newbie
Oct 1, 2004
I replaced the hd on my iMac DV SE with a 80gb drive. I found a site online with a walkthrough. Watch the screws and good luck, it should be a snap, one hour tops. :)

ChrisFromCanada

macrumors 65816
May 3, 2004
Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
I just put a 40Gb Western Digital Hard Drive in one of my 400MHz iMacs It took me about 45 mins and I used this Guide to help me. It worked Great. I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the old Hard Drive to the new one. Also one piece of advice is be careful not to lose the screws. I would be happy to answer any other questions you have.

cluthz

macrumors 68040
Jun 15, 2004
Norway
Don't buy a drive larger than 120 GB for the iMac DV.
Only machines after The QuickSilver G4 can handle more than 120 GB
(its possible with older machines with proper software or a pci ata controller)
It you get a drive larger than 120 GB your machine won't se more than ca. 128 GB of it. Any ATA 33/66/100/133 drive will work in your computer.
(SATA or SCSI wont work)

misguided

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 29, 2004
imac hard drive