Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2010, 09:36 AM   #1
orangeslemon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Help - Can't install Warcraft 3 in on my MBP

Hi all Mac gurus, I seriously need some good advice.

I recently bought a legit warcraft III cd set, to be installed in my new macbook pro. When I tried to insert Reign of Chaos CD, I run the icon and key in the CD keys as instructed. Then, once I proceed, I got the message "Couldn't create destination folder "warcraft III folder". (-50).

What I can do? Please help
orangeslemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 09:38 AM   #2
Xavier
macrumors 68020
 
Xavier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus
Enter your CD key on the Blizzard site and download the digital forms of Warcraft 3.
Xavier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 09:39 AM   #3
orangeslemon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wow, you are fast, TQ. Would it help? What is the problem actually?
orangeslemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 09:42 AM   #4
Xavier
macrumors 68020
 
Xavier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus
Try here.

Others have had problems with installing Warcraft 3. I assume that you are trying to install on Mac OS X, and on Snow Leopard?

Downloading the native Mac OS X installer, or using the digital forms of the Warcraft 3 CD's tend to solve installation issues. Both of which can be found on Blizzards website.
Xavier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 09:50 AM   #5
orangeslemon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Yes Xavier, I am installing on OS X snow eloped. I will try to download from blizzard and see what will happen.

appreciate your quick help
orangeslemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 10:03 AM   #6
orangeslemon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hm… A stupid question I guess… how to enter CD key in the blizzard website? I can't find any, or do you mean give it to the blizzard support
orangeslemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 10:37 AM   #7
Xavier
macrumors 68020
 
Xavier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeslemon View Post
Hm… A stupid question I guess… how to enter CD key in the blizzard website? I can't find any, or do you mean give it to the blizzard support
Create a Blizzard account. If you click 'Store' you will see an option in the upper right to register. After you have registered and verified your account through email, go into 'account management'. There you will see an option call 'Add or Upgrade a Game'. Here you will be presented with an option to enter a CD key. Enter both the Warcraft 3 RoC CD Key and then the FT CD Key, and you will be allowed to download both in their digital forms.

It should be easier to find the blizzard Mac OS X installer.
Xavier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 10:58 PM   #8
orangeslemon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
It's working!!

I registered with Blizzard and downloaded the Mac installer (ROC) using my CD-keys. Then I installed using the installer... Whoala, everything is like a breeze afterwards.

Now, I am downloading the Mac installer for TFT, take long time but I am a happyman

Thanks Xavier!
orangeslemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 11:01 PM   #9
Xavier
macrumors 68020
 
Xavier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeslemon View Post
It's working!!

I registered with Blizzard and downloaded the Mac installer (ROC) using my CD-keys. Then I installed using the installer... Whoala, everything is like a breeze afterwards.

Now, I am downloading the Mac installer for TFT, take long time but I am a happyman

Thanks Xavier!
Interestingly enough, I posted at the same time you posted this.

Anywho, glad you got it working. Once you get everything up and running you don't need to save the dmg's. Warcraft 3 will run without a CD present. Also if you ever run into further problem, you can redownload.

I love Warcraft 3, enjoy!
Xavier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2010, 11:10 AM   #10
orangeslemon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier View Post
Interestingly enough, I posted at the same time you posted this.

Anywho, glad you got it working. Once you get everything up and running you don't need to save the dmg's. Warcraft 3 will run without a CD present. Also if you ever run into further problem, you can redownload.

I love Warcraft 3, enjoy!
Tonight I downloaded the TFT Mac installer from Blizzard, and no surprise this time, everything was smooth and I am able to install TFT and even update the 1.24 patch. To complete my night, I test run Dota ai and it was perfect!

You really gives me a great favor Xavier. Warcraft is my all time fav game
orangeslemon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:14 PM   #11
halbouni
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
help me plzzzz :) !!

i got this new MBP with retina display and i cant install WOC or TFT :S i got an account on battle.net and i bought the game but every time i try to download it from battle.net it say file is broken or some **** like this :S can u help meeee with this one plzz ???




Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier View Post
Interestingly enough, I posted at the same time you posted this.

Anywho, glad you got it working. Once you get everything up and running you don't need to save the dmg's. Warcraft 3 will run without a CD present. Also if you ever run into further problem, you can redownload.

I love Warcraft 3, enjoy!


----------

ahh and one last thing i m not really good with this site :/ i dnt understand anything i barely know how to login so take my mail and plz reply on it
its mo.halbouni@gmail.com


Quote:
Originally Posted by halbouni View Post
i got this new MBP with retina display and i cant install WOC or TFT :S i got an account on battle.net and i bought the game but every time i try to download it from battle.net it say file is broken or some **** like this :S can u help meeee with this one plzz ???
halbouni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:17 PM   #12
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
WC3/TFT won't run on an OS newer than 10.6.8, which is not compatible with any of the "retina" models

Edit: There's mention of a universal update below so I may be mixing it up with Starcraft.

Last edited by Nermal; Oct 30, 2012 at 11:09 PM.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 10:22 PM   #13
halbouni
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
another help maybe :D

thanks for the fast reply should i downgrade my software or something ??
or maybe i heard something of installing windows on mac :/ but i really dnt get it :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
WC3/TFT won't run on an OS newer than 10.6.8, which is not compatible with any of the "retina" models
halbouni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:39 PM   #14
Skoundrell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
install trouble on imac 4

hi all,

having problems installing warcraft 3 on imac 4 running 10.6.8. so far as i can tell, it's been used on a pc up until now (bought 2nd hand via e-bay). i'm giving crossover a whirl, which installs w3 fine, but then can't recognise the disk in the drive. is there any way to get the game up and running without forking out for a new disk? key works fine so far...

thanks in advance.
Skoundrell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't install Ubuntu on my MBP Mrguidogenio Mac Basics and Help 8 Dec 8, 2011 06:20 AM
Can't Install Ubuntu 11.04 On My 2009 MBP strausd Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Aug 18, 2011 03:35 PM
Help - I've switched regions too often on my MBP optical drive BeamsNbarcelona MacBook Pro 5 Nov 29, 2010 02:55 PM
I can't install Microsoft mouse software on my MBP. kreidel Mac Basics and Help 4 Mar 10, 2010 08:47 PM
Can't Install Warcraft 3 Reeves Games 7 Feb 15, 2005 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC