Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:36 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
iLife '11 Still 32-Bit






Gear Live confirms that Apple's new iLife '11 suite retains the 32-bit codebase found in earlier versions, squashing hopes that the company would make the transition to 64-bit code for the release.
Quote:
So we figured that one unannounced "feature" would likely be that the iLife suite had been converted to 64 bit. After all, Snow Leopard has had more than enough time to mature out in the wild, and it seems that developers left and right have jumped onto the 64 bit bandwagon. That's why we were sorely disappointed when we launched Activity Monitor and found that, unlike just about every other process and application we are running on the Mac Pro, the iLife apps are still labeled as "Intel" rather than "Intel 64 bit."
While speculation regarding a shift to 64-bit for iLife has floated around for some time, the first specific claims of the change surfaced in July alongside claims that the release would ship in August for $79 and would see a revamp of iWeb, the disappearance of iDVD, and a new "mystery" application, none of which came to pass.

The claims were fed earlier this month by the appearance of listings for new iLife '11 books on Amazon's German site, although we noted at the time that the relevant book description appeared to be taken almost point-by-point from the earlier rumors rather than from any inside knowledge.

Article Link: iLife '11 Still 32-Bit
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:39 PM   #2
mytakeontech
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not good!
mytakeontech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:39 PM   #3
dscuber9000
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indiana, US
iLife '13 then?...
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" (Mid-2009) 2.26GHz | 320GB, 7200RPM | 4GB RAM
16GB iPhone 4S
dscuber9000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:40 PM   #4
imacman9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Hmmm interesting... don't you think they are taking to long to go to all 64 bit?
imacman9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:40 PM   #5
SatyMahajan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cambridge, MA
Adobe, you're so lazy!!!!

Oh wait...
__________________
Mac Pro Octo + Dual 30" ACDs | MacBook Pro 13 | iPad 4G 64GB | iPhone 4S 64GB | Apple TV 2
Visit my website, Check out my iPhone and iPad Apps! and Follow me on twitter!
SatyMahajan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:40 PM   #6
Žalgiris
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lithuania
For the love of God ...
Žalgiris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:40 PM   #7
LanPhantom
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hooper, UT
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

Disappointing.
__________________
(2) iPhone 4 Black 32Gb MBP 15" 2.4Ghz MBP 13" 2.4Ghz, Airport Extreme driving two Airport Expresses for Music everywhere!
LanPhantom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:41 PM   #8
David G.
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Apple sure is taking their sweet, precious time.
David G. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:41 PM   #9
RawBert
macrumors 68000
 
RawBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Hollywood, CA
No 64-bit for you!

Come back - one year!

__________________
THE ART OF RAW
Steve Lives On
RawBert is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:41 PM   #10
ovrlrd
macrumors 65816
 
ovrlrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dscuber9000 View Post
iLife '13 then?...
Yep, and the update will be free for anyone who purchased iLife through the Mac App Store.
__________________
15" rMBP 2.7GHz+16GB+768GB :: iPhone 5 32GB :: iPad Mini 64GB Wi-Fi
ovrlrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:42 PM   #11
SatyMahajan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cambridge, MA
Logic 9 wasn't 64-bit when it was released. Got updated to 64-bit with a .1 update. They might do the same with iLife and iWork.
__________________
Mac Pro Octo + Dual 30" ACDs | MacBook Pro 13 | iPad 4G 64GB | iPhone 4S 64GB | Apple TV 2
Visit my website, Check out my iPhone and iPad Apps! and Follow me on twitter!
SatyMahajan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:42 PM   #12
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
I guess everything that's on stage stays on stage. Don't let the cutouts fall over.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:44 PM   #13
ovrlrd
macrumors 65816
 
ovrlrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacman9 View Post
Hmmm interesting... don't you think they are taking to long to go to all 64 bit?
I want to see reports like this every time iTunes is updated.

"Nope it's not 64 bit yet. Apple is still on 32-bit iTunes"

While it would be nice to have 64-bit iLife, I think it is rather trivial for them update them when they get to that point. With iTunes though, it's going to be one hell of a rewrite and I think that will really tell us when Apple is planning to finally get all their apps up to 64-bit.
__________________
15" rMBP 2.7GHz+16GB+768GB :: iPhone 5 32GB :: iPad Mini 64GB Wi-Fi
ovrlrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:44 PM   #14
illegalprelude
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Send a message via AIM to illegalprelude Send a message via MSN to illegalprelude Send a message via Yahoo to illegalprelude
With delays and rumors of features cut from Final Cut Stuios, I think this in large has to do with a lack of staff at Cupertino or a lack of dedicates staff to OS X. it's clear and I don't blame them that iOS is a prime concern for the team and we have seen plenty of delays on the OSX side for that sake. This again i assume had to do with that as well.
__________________
"PeAcE is but a shadow of death, desperate to forget its painful past"
SonyRumors.net Sony News, Talk, and Reviews
Bebi Tech Consulting Your Mac Consultant
illegalprelude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:44 PM   #15
John.B
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Flyover Country
Unless you are using an application that has to directly interface with some type of hardware driver (and it's a compatibility issue), does it even matter IRL?
__________________
Apple develops an improved programming language. Google copied Java. Everything you need to know, right there.

MA497LL/A FB463LL/A MC572LL/A FC060LL/A MD481LL/A MD388LL/A ME344LL/A
John.B is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:47 PM   #16
aiqw9182
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
It's likely going to stay that way until Apple updates the Quicktime X framework with Quicktime 7's encoding features/options.
aiqw9182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:47 PM   #17
Torrijos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
This is sad

It might have to do with Quicktime X still unable to completely replace Quicktime 7.
Torrijos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:47 PM   #18
Lucky736
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX or MI
Send a message via AIM to Lucky736 Send a message via Yahoo to Lucky736
Pretty sure that was a given since the system requirements were shown to be a Core Duo and not a Core 2 Duo.
Lucky736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:48 PM   #19
lostngone
macrumors 6502a
 
lostngone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Anchorage
Bummer

So much for 64bit.

Well maybe, if they can release it before we are all destroyed in 2012...
lostngone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:48 PM   #20
foobarbaz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hopes? Disappointment? Does this really affect users? At all?

Seems like we're still playing the Gigahertz Game... *sigh*
foobarbaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:49 PM   #21
aiqw9182
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
Pretty sure that was a given since the system requirements were shown to be a Core Duo and not a Core 2 Duo.
That's completely irrelevant as every app that's 64-bit on Snow Leopard also has a 32-bit counterpart for the Core Duo machines.
aiqw9182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:49 PM   #22
D'Illusion
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wow, that's so "Revolutionary"
__________________
More "Magical" than David Blaine, More "Electric" than Thomas Edison
D'Illusion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:49 PM   #23
ovrlrd
macrumors 65816
 
ovrlrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
Pretty sure that was a given since the system requirements were shown to be a Core Duo and not a Core 2 Duo.
That doesn't matter because Apple can easily include the 32-bit version as universal binary like the rest of the OS has so that it will still run in 32-bit when you don't have a 64-bit capable chip.
__________________
15" rMBP 2.7GHz+16GB+768GB :: iPhone 5 32GB :: iPad Mini 64GB Wi-Fi
ovrlrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:49 PM   #24
NT1440
macrumors G3
 
NT1440's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hartford, CT
Are the iLife apps intensive enough to benefit from 64 bit?
NT1440 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:50 PM   #25
ikir
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm always an Apple supporter and i don't bash them for stupid things or just fear like it is happening with Mac App Store now.... but for this time i must admit i'm disappointed. I was sure iLife11 = 64bit. Maybe an update? i really hope so.
__________________
My homepage html, php, css handwritten, graphics made by me
Amiga News.it THE italian Amiga portal
ikir is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to downgrade 64 bit to 32 bit time machine? Extra Crispy MacBook Pro 4 Jan 21, 2014 05:32 AM
64 bit & 32 bit apps ljy1 iOS 7 1 Jan 11, 2014 12:22 AM
Deploying 32 bit or 64 bit or Universal Binaries? kamy Mac Programming 7 Nov 15, 2013 01:10 PM
iMac 2008, Boot Camp 5, and Windows 7 32-bit & 64-bit mcrazza Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 20, 2013 10:57 PM
ilife 08 - ilife 06 compatibility biffersniffed MacBook 0 Jan 10, 2013 01:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC